Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Another spoof Ebay E-mail


eboyjones
August 26th, 2004, 12:56 AM
Got this one today. I sent a copy of it to Ebay security and they said it was not from them. I would not click on the link in the e-mail!



http://emailpics3.ebay.com/627422250/images/logo-18.gif (http://click3.ebay.com/99019653.50692.0.20283) ***Urgent Safeharbor Department Notice*** eBay Fraud Mediation Request
Date: Wed, 25 Aug 2004

You have recieved this email because you or someone had used your account to make fake bids at eBay. For security purposes, we are required to open an investigation into this matter.

THE FRAUD ALERT ID CODE CONTAINED IN THIS MESSAGE WILL BE ATTACHED IN OUR FRAUD MEDIATION REQUEST FORM, IN ORDER TO VERIFY YOUR EBAY ACCOUNT REGISTRATION INFORMATIONS.

Fraud Alert ID CODE: 00937614
(Please save this Fraud Alert ID Code for your reference.)

To help speed up this process, please access the following form to complete the verification of your eBay account registration informations:

http://scgi.ebay.com/verify_id=ebay &fraud alert id code=00937614 (http://211.202.3.208/event_1201/popup.files/.eBay/eBayISAPI.php?MfcISAPICommand=SignInFPP&UsingSSL=1&email=&userid=)

.

Please Note:
If we do not receive the appropriate eBay account verification within 48 hours, then we will assume this eBay account is fraudulent and will be suspended.
The purpose of this verification is to ensure that your eBay account has not been fraudulently used and to combat the fraud from our community.We appreciate your support and understanding, as we work together to keep eBay a safe place to trade.

Thank you for your patience in this matter.

Regards, Safeharbor Department (Trust and Safety Department)
eBay Inc.

Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.



Copyright © 2004 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. eBay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc. eBay is located at 2145 Hamilton Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125.

TechZ
August 26th, 2004, 03:25 AM
So I guess you would vote yes on the plan by MS to put a caller id type feature on e-mails?

Archer
August 26th, 2004, 05:47 AM
So Ebay have now moved to Seoul have they............damn they never told me! Now Ive gotta find my driving licence and Social number too :rolleyes: :D

pugs
August 26th, 2004, 08:28 AM
man how many different ebay email spoofs are people gonna try until they realize people arent that dumb to fall for it.

Archer
August 26th, 2004, 08:30 AM
Anybody lend me their credit card details Ive mislaid mine somewhere. :D

corturbra
August 26th, 2004, 08:34 AM
Yep logged in and confirmed my details, look forward to hearing about who was using my account fraudulently.... :sad: :sad:

corturbra
August 26th, 2004, 08:34 AM
man how many different ebay email spoofs are people gonna try until they realize people arent that dumb to fall for it.

Scary thing is dude, people do still fall for this sh!t.

Stalemate
August 26th, 2004, 09:17 AM
Scary thing is dude, people do still fall for this sh!t.


Yup.

That bait is enough for some to become phishing victims, sadly enough.