Are you certified????
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Are you certified????

Talking Are you certified????

Just curious as to how many tech's out there are A+ or MCSE certified. I got my training through an appenticeship, in other words I trained myself. Sure I screwed up a few times, but no more than any certified tech I've ever worked with.

It would be different if there was a course out there that actually showed you how to fix a computer.

What bugs me is that large corporations won't even look at you unless you are at least A+ certified and they don't even run a test to see if you can actually fix a computer problem or not.

I am currently waiting to do my A+ exam against my will, but for double my salary.

------------------
    It's not rocket science, it's just a computer.

Snommis69

Nope...don't have cert 1. I am entirely self taught. Not to put anyone down, but we have some certified guys who are literally clueless. I think that if someone genuinely loves what they do, they learn more and are better at it than any cert could lead to.
    I feel for ya when you say many places won't look at ya without it, tho. Kinda funny, since this industry grew from geeks like us...

Damn the man!

------------------
    Is the damn thing plugged in, is the damn thing turned on?

Darren Wilson