[RESOLVED] Stupidest way to flash a bios
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: [RESOLVED] Stupidest way to flash a bios

Compudoc

Cool Stupidest way to flash a bios

I have been doing this business for about 3 years. I went to a customers house. On one side of the room he had an amd K6-2 cpu @300mhz running some sort of flight simulator. On the other side he had an AMD Athlon @ 700mhz. The smaller K6-2 ran the game perfect. The Athlon was choppy. I looked at this and that. I updated his drivers, checked for other programs in ram, ect. Nothing worked. I explained to the customer that he had a first generation Athlon chipset, and that a bios flash may help. So I figure out what board it is, and download a Bios flash. I copied to a clean boot disk, and proceeded. Well I loaded the flash program from the floppy, and typed in the bios image name in the box. The pc reported it cannot read the image. I tried and tried. Then I remembered that I have a copy on the Hard drive. So I typed in the location on the Hard drive. I knew there was a problem when it took less than a second to flash the bios. Needless to say I got a black screen after reboot. Its a constant reminder that I am human

Nah, the stupidest way to flash the BIOS is to hit it with a hammer. we are all human dood. sometimes we think to hard about a situation and forget the proper procedures......

Other times, We can just do a complete Brain fart.
    Some days you are the dog, some days you are the Hydrant.

visit http://www.digifuge.com

Indigo

I have flashed from the HDD many, many, many times.. never a problem. In fact I prefer to flash from the HDD.

LargeLarry

how do you flash from the HD? I got a dead computer here cause the bios update program froze, I rebooted and it won't read a floppy. I push the on button and all i get is a blank screen and nothing happens. Thanks.

AnyTwo

Smile