Connecting Windows 2000 PC to NT4 Domain

Thread: Connecting Windows 2000 PC to NT4 Domain

Post Connecting Windows 2000 PC to NT4 Domain

I hope I am right in assuming that a Windows 2000 PC will authenticate to an NT 4 domain. I am having that problem now. The computer can browse the network, ping all servers, and access network resources. But it will not let me insert it into our domain which is entirely comprised of NT 4 servers. I am new to Windows 2000, so forgive me if this is an easy question. I have inserted the correct lmhosts file and the PC has an account in the domain. Any suggestions?

Lightbulb

Have you installed SP2 on your W2K station? You can also take a look at this article.
    <a href="http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q272/3/48.ASP?LN=EN-US&SD=gn&FR=0&qry=authenticate%20windows%202000%20 NT%20domain&rnk=52&src=DHCS_MSPSS_gn_SRCH&SPR=MSAL L" target="_blank">http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q272/3/48.ASP?LN=EN-US&SD=gn&FR=0&qry=authenticate%20windows%202000%20 NT%20domain&rnk=52&src=DHCS_MSPSS_gn_SRCH&SPR=MSAL L</a>

Lightbulb

what you need to do is the domain server administrator account. You will need to make a account the same as the administrator account on the domain server on the windows 2000 machine and then login with the account you made. (note make the account have admin rights) now try to put the computer on the domain.

I have this problem with all my windows 2000 computers.

Windows 2000 wants the real admin rights from the domain server. This is the only way it will work.

ex:
    Domain Server Admin Account: F00
    Domain Server Admin Password Account: FOO32

Windows 2k Admin Account: F00
    Windows 2k Admin Password Account: F0032

win2k login
    Login:F00
    Password:F0032

Put win2k on domain (doamin F00Domain)
    http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/cont...uts/athlon.gif

Do you leak any fluids, do you have any bumps on your rear, do you have any unpleasant odors?