[RESOLVED] how to get rid of desktop icons

Thread: [RESOLVED] how to get rid of desktop icons

Nigmafyr

Red face how to get rid of desktop icons

Allrite, here i am messing with the registry on my comp, ( i am just starting to learnt he advanced stuff) and i was wondering 3 things, 1. is there a way to remove the my computer icon from the desktop. 2. is there a way to remove the network neighborhood icon from the desktop (without disabling the network in windows explorer as i am connected to a LAN and i need to be able to access it all) and 3. is there a way in ME to get the menu effects and shading like there is in windows 2000?

BTW i have tried to use tweak UI to get rid of the icons and all it does is disable the network naming for me.

thanks guys

------------------
    "And You Say Self-Important Egomaniac Like It's A Bad Thing"

corelogik

the only way is to click the button on the effects menu "hide icons when desktop veiwed as web page" then select your active desktop and a jpeg or similar web document as you wallpaper.

if you do this it would be a good idea to create shortcuts to all of them on the start menu or taskbar for easy access.

------------------
    CoreLogik - "I Control Your MotherBoard"
    Emotion Is Irrelavant
    [email protected]

SiCkNuT

Can I ask why you'd want to hide these anyway??

------------------
    [ i N S A N i T Y 2 0 o 1 ]

Nigmafyr

Talking

i want to get rid of them strictly cause i dont like them, much less do i use them.

i always access everything i want from explorer, and i was lookin gmore for a registry editor thing that would get rid of them

------------------
    "And You Say Self-Important Egomaniac Like It's A Bad Thing"

Rellik

to get the shading effects you might try WindowFX by Stardock. But to me, effects like that take needed resources.

Two Ways to remove all icons: