car stereo deck that fits in 5.25 bay
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: car stereo deck that fits in 5.25 bay

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    38

    Talking car stereo deck that fits in 5.25 bay

    Hello
    I have some AT cases that have viable power supplies. I would like to know if there are available any car stereo decks that will fit into one or two of the 5.25 inch bays so I can convert one of the cases to a radio. Would make a slick flea market project.
    Thanks
    Ken
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bentleyville, Pa
    Posts
    462

    Post

    don't have an answer, but that's an interesting idea for sure. Hope it works out.
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    CAD Guru - PC Specialist Fierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    1,017

    Post

    I believe that the standard car stereo deck is much wider than a 5.25" bay on a case...I will double check my car deck width. I will also measure the height, I have a single DIN size deck...you may be only able to fit this size and not the 1.5 DIN and double DIN sizes. Lastly, you may have to make adapter plates for a nice clean tight fit. Cool idea....could be considered a "Case Mod"...
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Banned Ya_know's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    9,630

    Post

    Some of the GM cars (with Delco stereo's) might be at 5.25, but they are taller than a standard deck. I don't know for sure the measurments. If you call a GM dealer parts department, find any of the Pontiac's from the early to mid ‘90’s, such as a Grand Am, or GP, and ask them to measure the unit. I think the same stereo was used in many of the Chevy and GMC trucks around that time. They should have at least one handy. Word to the wise, when you want to buy them, go to the salvage yards. A brand new factory deck can run over $700 brand new.

    Curiously I ask, how are you going to solve the power conversion from 120V AC to 12V DC?
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Registered User Rellik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    715

    Post

    [quote]Originally posted by Ya_know:
    <strong>
    Curiously I ask, how are you going to solve the power conversion from 120V AC to 12V DC?</strong><hr></blockquote>

    Uh, the AT PC power supply puts out +12VDC + +5VDC to the drives and the MB

    the cool part it you could mount the amp where the motherboard would normaly be. I guess the only thing left is where to put the audio connectors.

    EDIT:
    I just thought of another interesting mod that would fit this: with a little cutting, build a subwoofer into the case.
    May the Schwartz be with you
    Too many zeros, not enough ones.
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Registered User WebHead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    7,965

    Post

    [quote]Originally posted by Fierce1:
    <strong>Cool idea....could be considered a "Case Mod"... </strong><hr></blockquote>

    Definately a cool idea. All sorts of light bulbs flashed over my head as I read this thread (that rhymed.) I have a car stereo here (Pioneer DEN-415) that I would like to do this with. It looks to be about 1 1/2" wider, and about 1/2" higher, that the bay. But some cutting and so forth could fix that. I'm just wondering how to go about hooking up power and speakers.
    Hello World
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Banned Ya_know's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    9,630

    Post

    [quote]Originally posted by Rellik:
    <strong>

    Uh, the AT PC power supply puts out +12VDC + +5VDC to the drives and the MB

    </strong><hr></blockquote>

    So what you are saying is that I should have known that? Well call me stupid, I didn't_know that.

    I am going to hook a hard drive up to my car now, I could use the extra storage...
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Circle Pines,MN,USA
    Posts
    802

    Post

    The two black are grounds...the Red is 12 volt(i think) the yellow is 5.....And if your really super slick you make a 7 volt by using the 5 volt as ground...nice trick for quieting down big 120mm fans
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Registered User Poseidon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Knoxville, TN USA
    Posts
    1,749

    Post

    Interesting idea. When you get started, be sure and post pictures for everyone.
    The early bird may get the worm; but the second mouse gets the cheese!
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    Registered User Commander Klarg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    IKV Decapitator - A
    Posts
    711

    Post

    That would be cool. I had always kind of wondered if anyone would ever think of selling an AM/FM/cassette player that could be installed in a PC. I know I would like it.

    I suppose there wouldn't be enough demand, but couldn't they make one that *could* work, but also be able to install into a car without a whole lot of fuss?

    Just thinking out loud....
    Here comes the revolution; time for the retribution.
    Share on Google+

  11. #11
    Intel Mod Platypus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,728

    Post

    [quote]Originally posted by LagMonster:
    <strong>the Red is 12 volt(i think) the yellow is 5 </strong><hr></blockquote>

    Nope, the other way 'round.


    [quote]Originally posted by LagMonster:
    <strong>And if your really super slick you make a 7 volt by using the 5 volt as ground...nice trick for quieting down big 120mm fans
    </strong><hr></blockquote>

    Yes, neat, as long as the fan will start reliably at 7 volt, some may not.
    Share on Google+

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    451

    Post

    We built a system with a AM/FM tuner into a case- is desinged for use ina drive bay-- was an item a customer brought in for us to put into his new system-- pretty slick- no tape deck though.
    The unbreakable toy is good for breaking other toys...
    Share on Google+

  13. #13
    Registered User Rellik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    715

    Post

    [quote]Originally posted by Ya_know:
    <strong>

    So what you are saying is that I should have known that? Well call me stupid, I didn't_know that.

    I am going to hook a hard drive up to my car now, I could use the extra storage... </strong><hr></blockquote>

    Sorry, didn't mean to sound insulting , I guess I have been keeping my head in my PC case for a little too long

    Oh, and I took my brothers car subwoofer (which he isn't using now) and used an AT power supply to power it, only problem a there is a little bit of AC hum.
    May the Schwartz be with you
    Too many zeros, not enough ones.
    Share on Google+

  14. #14
    Intel Mod Platypus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,728

    Post

    Rellik, please disregard this if you already know it, but since the AT supply is a high frequency switching regulated supply, the mains hum is probably not from the supply. Most likely it is due to the earthing of the audio signal connections. Hum is usually due to a common earth path, often called a hum loop. The earth side of the input signal leads should only be connected to the chassis at one place, usually the case of the amp. If it goes to earth potential anywhere else a loop will be formed which can induce hum from magnetic fields. It can be hard to avoid hum loops with car amps, which aren't designed for mains operation, but some adjustment to the earthing might eliminate the hum you're getting.
    Share on Google+

  15. #15
    Registered User Rellik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    715

    Post

    [quote]Originally posted by Platypus:
    <strong>Rellik, please disregard this if you already know it, but since the AT supply is a high frequency switching regulated supply, the mains hum is probably not from the supply. Most likely it is due to the earthing of the audio signal connections. Hum is usually due to a common earth path, often called a hum loop. The earth side of the input signal leads should only be connected to the chassis at one place, usually the case of the amp. If it goes to earth potential anywhere else a loop will be formed which can induce hum from magnetic fields. It can be hard to avoid hum loops with car amps, which aren't designed for mains operation, but some adjustment to the earthing might eliminate the hum you're getting.</strong><hr></blockquote>

    That's good information to know, I kinda halfway knew that, but in this case I doubt I will be able to eliminatethe hum completly unless I filter it somehow.

    When my brother had the sub hooked up to his system, he was using a regular 12V converter, which I guess wasn't as good as this AT power supply, IRC the hum was worse with the other power supply.
    May the Schwartz be with you
    Too many zeros, not enough ones.
    Share on Google+

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •