[RESOLVED] 4 cd rom drives in one month!

Thread: [RESOLVED] 4 cd rom drives in one month!

Eric Alexander

Post 4 cd rom drives in one month!

Allright here's the deal, this issue has been haunting me for a while now. What happens is my cd rom drive will not read any cd's. It doesnt even try and spin up sometimes, it just gives out "error reading drive" errors left and right, when it does read, its sloooooooowwwwwwwww, and during installs of programs, it freezes my system, and sometimes makes explorer not respond in close program manager. I have cleaned the cd rom numerous times, and i have replaced the drive 4 times, with different brands of cd roms, gone from a 42 x, to a 24x, to 8x to a now a 32 x. The drives work for about 2 weeks fine, then start to die on me. I have a master and a slave drive on my primary ide and the cd rom is a master on the secondary ide controller. The motherboard is a boardrunner 5mvp3 via chipset, super 7 motherboard, 1 meg cache, agp 2x, amd k6-2 300 3d now. 80 megs of 100mhz sdram. So far for this and other issues, with my system, I have updated the bios, adjusted bios settings, made sure the secondary ide controller was transmitting data through another hd, I fdisked both hd's and formatted them, reinstalled windows 98 se, downloaded updated drivers for my motherboard, verified jumper settings.... Adjusted settings in windows cd properties, i have auto disconnect checked, auto insert notification, i have toggled between dma's on and off to see if it helps, still no success. What im wondering is if any one has gone through this with this motherboard, could my secondary ide be thrashing my cd roms? Im curious to see what other techs have to say on this,i get some pretty good tips from work, but none have solved this re-occuring issue. Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated...thanks.

Eric

I would load BIOS setup defaults to see if that helps,

also try slaving it to the master HDD and putting a HDD on the secondary port.