[RESOLVED] overclocking questions
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: [RESOLVED] overclocking questions

  1. #1
    sieZe
    Guest

    Post overclocking questions

    Hi

    Today I overclocked my cpu from pentium 2

    350 to 450. But im not sure if it really

    worked because the number of the speed 350

    still remained the same when i reboot it.

    Well, the computer is working fine. i

    overclocked it by switching the deep switch.

    I dont actually see any changes on my

    computer except for some messup on the start

    menu at the left edge but everything else

    is working fine though.

    Could please someone tell me if i

    overclocked it rightway?


  2. #2
    Registered User AlienDyne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Athens, GREECE
    Posts
    3,772

    Post

    If you keep seeing the same speed, probably you've done something wrong.

    Leave the multiplier as it is and change the frequency. From 100Mhz to a higher value.

    ------------------
    "Matter is passive. In spite of its power, it can't be controlled without the human mind." Sokrates

    My Hardware Info, Hardware Media and Computer History page
    The wandering Odysseus of the web.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN USA
    Posts
    63

    Lightbulb

    You can also get a program called WCPUID that will tell you various information about your settings such as FSB and multiplier. You can download it at http://cgi2.tky.3web.ne.jp/~nrklv/cg...?wcpu28cb5.exe
    hope this helps you

    weck
    CYRIX....The Processor of the future......

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Pleasant Valley, NY, USA
    Posts
    449

    Post

    Some CPUs are usually multiplier-locked...you can't OC them by changing the multiplier.

    ------------------
    Bryan Pizzuti
    CompTIA A+, CNAP
    bpizzuti@earthlink.net
    ICQ # 8525092
    Yahoo Messenger: npaladin_2000
    Bryan Pizzuti
    CompTIA A+, CNAP
    bpizzuti@earthlink.net
    ICQ # 8525092
    Yahoo Messenger: npaladin_2000

  5. #5
    Registered User AlienDyne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Athens, GREECE
    Posts
    3,772

    Post

    Multipliers are locked on every Intel CPU, since Celeron 333.
    You must change the frequency in order to OC them.

    ------------------
    "Matter is passive. In spite of its power, it can't be controlled without the human mind." Sokrates

    My Hardware Info, Hardware Media and Computer History page
    The wandering Odysseus of the web.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •