D:\ is not accessable. The device is not ready
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: D:\ is not accessable. The device is not ready

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    3

    Post D:\ is not accessable. The device is not ready

    ARGH, how do I fix this? It was fine before I rebooted and now I get this error message ^^ !
    Can anyone help me out please? Thanks

  2. #2
    Registered User DANIMAL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,991

    Post

    What happened just before this?
    What is drive D CDrom or Hard Drive?
    What OS are you using?
    And what are the basic Specs of your System?
    I hope that someday we will be able to put away our fears and prejudices and just laugh at people.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    3

    Post

    P1 200MHz 32mb ram 6.4gb harddrive etc
    Win 98
    And D: drive is my CD-ROM drive

    What happened before was this:
    I was playing Diablo 1 and alt-tabbed back to the desktop to look at a web page. Did this twice. On the 3rd time back to Diablo the game hung and so did Windows, so I rebooted my system. After that is when the trouble started.

  4. #4
    Registered User red4's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Western Pennsylvania
    Posts
    28

    Post

    Can you see the d: in my computer? my guess is that the cd-rom may have gone bad. Not always so common but not impossible. When you were playing Diablo, do you need to use the cd to play the game? I'd try all sorts of cd's in it, from those AOL disks, to audio cds, to anything else you can find. If nothing works, open the case and make sure the ide cable is connected properly. You might even want to try to boot using a windows boot disk and see if you can access the d:\ from dos. If all else fail, try a new drive and see what happens. Well thats what i'd do
    hey, whatever helps you sleep at night

  5. #5
    Registered User Sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    DAB.Florida USA
    Posts
    358

    Lightbulb

    Sounds like a shut down with the power button, try booting to a command promt only, and do a "scanreg /fix".

    • Power on
    • At the start of, starting Win9x press 'F8'
    • Chose start command promt only
    • At the command promt type'scanreg /fix
    '

    This should put this as they where.. <IMG SRC="smilies/cool.gif" border="0">
    "More Than Merely Names"
    "NEVER FORGOTTEN"

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    3

    Post

    Ok, it's still buggered, this is what I have tried up till now:
    -Rebooting
    -Power off, power on
    -Connected a spare cd drive to see if
    that worked, it didn't
    -Connected the cd drive to the IDE2 connector (hard drive is connected to IDE1)
    -Reinstalled the driver
    -Played around with the autoexec.bat and config.sys files ( cd drive doesnt even work in DOS)
    -scanreg /fix at the command prompt

    The weird thing is, is that when I go to the command prompt at the start, it loads the drivers succesfully, but doesn't notice the cd drive...

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    a galaxy far away...
    Posts
    107

    Angry

    Gabber, I am having the sam problem as you can read in my posted topic! The only difference, I have never used that cd-rom but to installing the os (WIN98). After the normal reboot, D: is there, but won't read anything <IMG SRC="smilies/mad.gif" border="0"> <IMG SRC="smilies/mad.gif" border="0"> <IMG SRC="smilies/mad.gif" border="0"> <IMG SRC="smilies/confused.gif" border="0">
    _ ______________________ _
    May The Forbe Be With You.
    _ ______________________ _

    DISCLAIMER
    I am NOT responsible for any damages on your computer.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    109

    Lightbulb

    Try a new cable. <IMG SRC="smilies/wink.gif" border="0">

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    37

    Post

    Actually if it loads the drivers okay but doesn't see the drive, you should probably go into the bios and make sure that whatever your cd is using is set to auto detect. If it's the primary slave then drive 1, secondary master then drive 2, secondary slave is drive 3. Also, when you tried to set the existing CD to IDE 2 did you change the jumper on the drive to master? The other CD you tried on IDE 1 should have been set to slave.
    Sparky Mark
    Life is real, life is earnest- and the grave is not it's goal- dust thou art, to dust returneth- was not spoken of the soul...

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    109

    Thumbs up

    ok you have the little >>> ! <<<<<< yellow error in device manager well geez just remove it and reboot and windows should reinstall the CD. <IMG SRC="smilies/rolleyes.gif" border="0">

  11. #11
    Registered User C0NF0RTY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Israel,Raanana
    Posts
    88

    Post

    i had same problem.My friend have played whit BIOS (not not in HD's section) and after same days mt CD-rom have stop.So i loaded the BIOS defauld.Since that my CD-rom works.try that and let me know whats heppend <IMG SRC="smilies/tongue.gif" border="0">

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •