Device Manager takes a long time to load....
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Device Manager takes a long time to load....

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Makes ya wonder ....huh?
    Posts
    254

    Red face Device Manager takes a long time to load....

    I am running ME on a P4 1.7 w/512 mb ram.
    Recently, When I go to system properties and then to DM it takes 12-14 seconds before it actually opens up. I have not added or changed anything in the system that could correspond to this.
    Any thoughts?
    Would you like fries with that?

  2. #2
    Registered User AlienDyne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Athens, GREECE
    Posts
    3,772

    Post

    I'd reinstall Windows over itself.
    The wandering Odysseus of the web.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Swindon,Wiltshire,England
    Posts
    13

    Post

    Hi wildman, seems to be another ongoing problem with ME. Come across this with a few customers computers as well as a trial machine we have running in the workshop.Not a prob with 2000 or 98 but seems to be inherant in ME. Think you may have to live with it.

  4. #4
    Registered User Mr_Miyagi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Westbury, Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    1,099

    Post

    Originally posted by Wildman6971:
    <STRONG>I am running ME on a P4 1.7 w/512 mb ram.
    Recently, When I go to system properties and then to DM it takes 12-14 seconds before it actually opens up. I have not added or changed anything in the system that could correspond to this.
    Any thoughts?</STRONG>
    i had noticed that, but thought it was just normal: 15 secs in not much in pc terms.. seeing as my pc takes 4-5 mins to boot up! (athlon 1.2ghz 512mbram) <IMG SRC="smilies/cool.gif" border="0">

    IMHO <IMG SRC="smilies/confused.gif" border="0">
    Mr Miyagi, by any other name... (is this sig short enough?)

  5. #5
    Registered User ScooterWad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    106

    Post

    Wildman, I had the same problem on a Dell Laptop running ME. I ran disk clean up and defragged the HDD just for kix. So far, so good. I know it doesn't make much sense and shouldn't have much of an effect on a new install, but what the heck, it worked.
    BTW, mods. Is it just me, or do the profiles have this funky shadow thing goin on? I'm losin' it, man.
    If I had a hammer...

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sherman Oaks, Ca USA
    Posts
    666

    Post

    Originally posted by ScooterWad:
    <STRONG>Wildman, I had the same problem on a Dell Laptop running ME. I ran disk clean up and defragged the HDD just for kix. So far, so good. I know it doesn't make much sense and shouldn't have much of an effect on a new install, but what the heck, it worked.
    BTW, mods. Is it just me, or do the profiles have this funky shadow thing goin on? I'm losin' it, man.</STRONG>
    Actually, even a fresh install is 10% fragged when it's a 9X/ME install.
    Win2K does a better job installing without fragmenting the System files.
    When cometh the day we lowly ones
    Through quiet reflection and great dedication
    Master the art of karate
    Lo, we shall rise up
    And then we'll make the bugger's eyes water

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  






×
We have made updates to our Privacy Policy to reflect the implementation of the General Data Protection Regulation.