[RESOLVED] What do you think?
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: [RESOLVED] What do you think?

pumpkinhead77

Post What do you think?

I am begining to wonder if getting a virus protection program is a good idea for a home user. I mean, I have been using computers for 6 years and I have yet to get a virus on MY pc. It is my belief that if you are careful then you will not get a virus. What do you all think?

------------------
    If it's not broken....Fix it!

jay015

Cool

6 years....Lucky. Personally, I won't take that chance. Always have an up to date AV on my home pc & I can't really say that it bogs down performance any. Rather be safe than sorry!

Joker1

Yeah, an antivirus may loose you %5-10 performance (depending on the sys and software) but how much do you lose for a format/reinstall?

------------------
    Warning: Customer id10T rate exceeding safe thresholds!

Exclamation

I'm with them. I haven't had a virus probably for reasons like...I know not to click on something with a VBS extension...I know not to download suspicious looking stuff even if it's from someone I know...etc.

Most of the users I support don't even know those basic things. Not only that, but most of them don't do backups the way they should. I'd much rather put an AV program on their system than deal with the effects of a virus. All it takes is one wicked one to do major damage.

SNAFU

Talking

Your lucky. Then again, I go to websites that have lots of popups and warez and the like. I HAVE to have a firewall and AV, it's saved my butt many times. So, I agree. Even if you don't go anywhere and are safe and cautious, I'd recommend it. Plus, you never know where someone else will go and do if you let them use it (kids, spouse, whatever).

------------------
    Anything worth fighting for is worth fighting dirty for!!

xPoseidonx

Red face

You have to ask yourself is it worth the risk.
    6 years is a long time, but you never can tell when you will run into a virus.