[RESOLVED] Multiple PCs, one monitor. What's a good setup?

Thread: [RESOLVED] Multiple PCs, one monitor. What's a good setup?

jmsbond

Question Multiple PCs, one monitor. What's a good setup?

I just got asked if we could do a setup that I've never tried before: multiple computers connected to only one monitor. Apparently, the person who wants to do that wants to have a sort of "hub", like the ones they use to switch between VCR/Cable signals for TV input. Is there such a device? If there is, what's a good brand? Is it bad for monitors to do be switching between multiple PCs? So mahy questions...I would appreciate any help from you guys (and gals!).

KVM Switches (Keyboard, Video, Mouse). They allows one keyboard, monitor & mouse to be connected to multiple PCs and are switched either manually (A/B switch) or through an onscreen menu. Look into Belkin KVMs, they tend to be the best, although they are a little pricey.
    A bored admin is a very dangerous person...

KVM's are very good, you can also get the Administrator model which allows you to switch from PC to PC through a browser. they are a bit pricey though. I have been using a Linksys Proconnect here for over a year. It connects the PDC and BDC to one set of peripherals. We have a small but nicely set up climate controlled server room and really between the server and the NEC phone stuff there's not much room for 2 monitors and keyboards...etc.
    It's been working great without any problems and it only runs $139 at compusa, then you have to get the cabling kits also, one per machine.

The monitor will be fine with the switching as long as your not switching it over every five minutes for extended periods.
    When cometh the day we lowly ones
    Through quiet reflection and great dedication
    Master the art of karate
    Lo, we shall rise up
    And then we'll make the bugger's eyes water

3fingersalute

Belkin makes nice switches!