permissions 
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: permissions

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Posts
    241

    Post permissions

    Ok, we have a laptop which is connected to our network all is ok there, trying to install a new program, installs under admin permissions, share the HDD, share the folder, all is ok give permissions to the user full control of both the HDD and folder.

    Log on as the user and they dont get accecss to the program ........why?
    This is really frustrating. Oh it's a data base program.
    It was like that when I got here!_ _ _ ___ _ _ _ pig's a$$.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Memphis, TN, USA
    Posts
    345

    Post

    Which version of windows? NT or 2K?
    Under NT just copy the link to the program from the admins profile to the users.
    2K should work the same way, but I haven't had to try it yet

    ------------------
    "Most people would sooner die than think; in fact, they do so. "

    - Bertrand Russell (1872-1970)
    "Most people would sooner die than think; in fact, they do so. "

    - Bertrand Russell (1872-1970)

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Posts
    241

    Post

    Opps I always forget to put in the O/S, it is running 2k.
    I will try your trick.
    It was like that when I got here!_ _ _ ___ _ _ _ pig's a$$.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Posts
    241

    Question

    no that didn't work copying the link accross, still does not allow access.
    End up getting a run error.
    It was like that when I got here!_ _ _ ___ _ _ _ pig's a$$.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Memphis, TN, USA
    Posts
    345

    Post

    Install it under the user's log in with the RUNAS command.
    I learned that from windrivers - search the boards or the MS knowledge base.
    "Most people would sooner die than think; in fact, they do so. "

    - Bertrand Russell (1872-1970)

  6. #6
    Registered User thirdfey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Pinehurst, NC USA
    Posts
    1,887

    Post

    uninstall the program, go into add/remove programs and install it from their. thats all ya need to do, oh yeah, be logged in as admin

    ------------------
    we are number one, all others are number two......or lower
    I'd rather be riding my motorcycle
    "I gotta have more cowbell, baby" Bruce Dickinson(Christopher Walken)

  7. #7
    xtac
    Guest

    Post

    Yah, I have had that same issue w/ Win2k. What a pain in the ***.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Sheffield, England
    Posts
    694

    Post

    It really sounds like a permissions thing to me.

    Is the system holding the database also NT? Is it NTFS and have you also given the user the correct NTFS security access?
    Double check when granting access that you tick the box granting access to subdirectories and files.

    cheers
    Scutter

    ------------------
    And Control Enter STILL wont let me post a reply.
    And Control Enter STILL wont let me post a reply.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Posts
    241

    Angry

    Ok, yes the os is win2k, with ntfs. I have installed and uninstalled the program 3x, including the registary. The user has full access to the program, read, write, full access. I install the program from the add/remove utility inside of the control pannel under the users profile with admin permissions. Have even changed their permissions to be admin and then changed back again. Under admin everything works fine, under a plain user nada, nothing, no way no how. How do you check to see the users ntfs permissions?
    It was like that when I got here!_ _ _ ___ _ _ _ pig's a$$.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Sheffield, England
    Posts
    694

    Post

    Hey Yoshie... Let me know if this worked.
    Did you get any of the responces?

    http://forums.windrivers.com/cgi-bin...ML/000586.html

    Cheers
    Scutter

    ------------------
    And Control Enter STILL wont let me post a reply.
    And Control Enter STILL wont let me post a reply.

  11. #11
    iateyourcat
    Guest

    Post

    what's the program? if the program is trying to perform an action to the machine that is reserved for an admin, it won't run.

    drop the user into power users on the local machine.

    ------------------
    =-iateyourcat-=

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Posts
    241

    Angry

    Hi all, Thanks for everyones help, still didn't work right so I gave the file admin rights to open up under. Still didnt fix the issue, and patching it like this isn't what security is all about , but it will have to do for now.

    Thanks again all who replied.
    It was like that when I got here!_ _ _ ___ _ _ _ pig's a$$.

  13. #13
    cheras
    Guest

    Post

    Hmmm... i'm not sure if this would help... try checking what other files or folders that the apllication might use, and give full rights on those things to the user...

    ------------------
    No matter what,
    No matter where,
    If broadband connection is there,
    It's always HOME.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •