Linksys opinions... 
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Linksys opinions...

  1. #1
    Registered User Deity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Elsewhere
    Posts
    1,412

    Post Linksys opinions...

    Does anybody have experience with the Linksys Hubs, Switches, or Routers? Are they decent, or am I going to have problems? Trying to decide what to buy.

    Thanks
    A bored admin is a very dangerous person...

  2. #2
    Registered User thirdfey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Pinehurst, NC USA
    Posts
    1,887

    Thumbs up

    Have 2 Linksys DSSX24 24 port switches(I think that is the model number). They are 10/100 and work fine for my company network. One of the switches did die on me and linksys replaced it with no problems and I had the new switch the next day. I have been warned by some Network Admins that Linksys's are prone to die after 6 months but of the 2 switchs, 1 100base hub, and 1 8 port switch that I have used at the places I have worked, I have only lost the above mentioned switch. Oh, and I have the 4 port broadband router/switch. If budget is a concern there should be nothing wrong with Linksys for small to medium size networks.
    I'd rather be riding my motorcycle
    "I gotta have more cowbell, baby" Bruce Dickinson(Christopher Walken)

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    313

    Post

    I like Linksys, but I think SMC is better all around. We use some of their NICs, routers, switches, and I have a Barricade at home. Flawless operation, lifetime guarantee and FREE 24/7 tech support. What's not to like?

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Mississauga Ont Canada
    Posts
    134

    Post

    I have dealt with their routers and nic's. I have not had any problems with them to this point. And the support's not too shabby either
    Veni, vidi, quiesco sum.
    "We came, We saw, We lazed around"

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    virginia beach VA
    Posts
    11

    Post

    have my homenetwork routed through the linksys ethernet 5 port workgroup hub, running off 2 linksys ethernet cards.

    no problems. works great. was thinking about checking out their cable router next.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Fountain Valley, CA
    Posts
    507

    Post

    Linksys is just fine. It's a good, reputable company. Not the best, but not the most expensive either. Good value products.

    tk

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Middle of nowhere
    Posts
    473

    Post

    I use a linksys workgroup hub and linksys dsl router and both work just fine.
    To each his/her own.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    East Coast, Fla
    Posts
    4

    Post

    I'm running 3 puters at home with the Linksys 4-port router/hub and all 3 with Linksys 10/100 Fast ethernet cards, installed and configured simply and flawlessly and havent had a problem with any of it- running the DHCP, puters networked, does the NAT, etc.

  9. #9
    Registered User Deity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Elsewhere
    Posts
    1,412

    Post

    Thanks everybody for your input. Glad to hear your opinions since my company just ordered 3 16-port 10/100 Switches. Now I just have to wait until they show up before I can have some fun with them.

    Thanks again.
    A bored admin is a very dangerous person...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •