KVM Switches
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: KVM Switches

  1. #1
    Registered User Deity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Elsewhere
    Posts
    1,412

    Post KVM Switches

    Can anybody reccommend a particular KVM Switch? I need something in the range of a 4 or 8 port, manual or automatic, any connection type (god bless those adapters).

    Thanks
    A bored admin is a very dangerous person...

  2. #2
    Registered User techleet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Posts
    459

    Post

    I can only tell you this: DO NOT GET A EDIMAX GENIE 2 PORT KVM. It's the worst KVM i've EVER used BY FAR. This thing switches on your for no reason, then it makes a loud beeping noise every few minutes, AND the mouse goes crazy when you play mp3s. GO FIGURE!!
    DON'T PANIC

  3. #3
    Registered User Deity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Elsewhere
    Posts
    1,412

    Post

    LOL! Thanks for the advice.
    A bored admin is a very dangerous person...

  4. #4
    Last Jedi
    Guest

    Thumbs up

    I've used Belkin KVM switches, both at work and home. The Omni View 4-port is bankable (can you say daisy-chain). Great for scalability since I keep aquiring machines!

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    85

    Post

    Originally posted by Last Jedi:
    I've used Belkin KVM switches, both at work and home. The Omni View 4-port is bankable (can you say daisy-chain). Great for scalability since I keep aquiring machines!
    3 words
    belkin, belkin, belkin
    ""in certain cases...one remains a philosopher only by being silent." -Friedrich Neitzsche "

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    211

    Smile

    I'll add a fourth word: Belkin



    Won't cost you a fortune and they work great
    "Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" -Benjamin Franklin

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    761

    Post

    I use a linksys 4-port and haven't had a single problem since I put it in. Cheaper than Belkin (cables were cheaper too).

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    85

    Post

    Originally posted by Milenko:
    I use a linksys 4-port and haven't had a single problem since I put it in. Cheaper than Belkin (cables were cheaper too).
    KVMs should not be cable specific...any cable that will work on your linksys should work on a belkin, and vise versa...
    ""in certain cases...one remains a philosopher only by being silent." -Friedrich Neitzsche "

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Circle Pines,MN,USA
    Posts
    805

    Post

    we use belkin at work if that counts for anything. Every once in a while it sorta screws up your mouse, but thats rare. This has happen on all of all of our belkin switches. Never had experience with anything else.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    New London,CT,USA
    Posts
    296

    Post

    Stay away from Protec (Bytelan), we have a bunch of 4 port and 8 port KVM's and they are junk.
    Where's that smoke coming from ?

  11. #11
    money
    Guest

    Cool

    i use program call VNC v3.3.3r7. i can look in my server work in server and use my keyboard,mouse and monitor from other computer.

  12. #12
    Registered User KINGofBLEH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greensboro, NC USA
    Posts
    1,680

    Post

    Originally posted by iamtheman:
    I'll add a fourth word: Belkin



    Won't cost you a fortune and they work great
    I'll add a fifth word: Belkin.
    L


    Welcome to four more years of the most dangerous presidency in history.

  13. #13
    Registered User Kymera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New York, NY USA
    Posts
    1,204

    Post

    Ummm, I don't think anyone recommended Belkin. There are other KVM's out there, but Belkin has the perfect price/performance ratio for consumers.
    end of line.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    83

    Post

    I use the Omni View 4 port KVM at home and it works great. I do however from time to time loose my mouse. But it's only about once a month. So it's not really not a problem.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Fargo, ND USA
    Posts
    259

    Post

    Black Box SevSwitch, no problems after 5 years.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •