starting your own business

Thread: starting your own business

Question starting your own business

Hey Guys I'm currently unemployed, however I"m still in high school, so its not that big of a deal.

I worked as a tech for over a year part time, and am considering starting my own side business for home networking and repairs.

How much should i charge for services? (in canadian dollars)

I was thinking like setting a $100 minimum for home networking (plus the cost of parts)

etc.
    "Knowledge belongs in the hands of the people"

[quote]Originally posted by Auric:
    <strong>Hey Guys I'm currently unemployed, however I"m still in high school, so its not that big of a deal.

I worked as a tech for over a year part time, and am considering starting my own side business for home networking and repairs.

How much should i charge for services? (in canadian dollars)

I was thinking like setting a $100 minimum for home networking (plus the cost of parts)

etc.</strong><hr></blockquote>

I graduated H.S. in 2000 - And the only computer related job i had was pc sales at office max Well anyway I started my own on the side business and it was great, it gave my a lot of experience and real repair situations. Anyway, I charged very little, (I was young and inexperienced ) I charged $20/hour(US)for any and everything. I had to quit because I got to busy and couldn't keep up with being a kid

This would be more appropriate in the <a href="http://forums.windrivers.com/cgi-bin/forum3/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=forum&f=40&SUBMIT=Go" target="_blank">Consultants Corner</a>

Nevertheless, I think that 100$ CAN for your experience (withouth any regard to the fact that you're still in high school) may be a bit much.

Do you have any credentials, certification or such which could justify such a price?