XP Upgrade, Dual Boot and EULA
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: XP Upgrade, Dual Boot and EULA

  1. #1
    Registered User MorseLady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Hertfordshire UK
    Posts
    834

    Post XP Upgrade, Dual Boot and EULA

    I have the Upgrade version of XP Home and was intending to instal it dual boot with my present ME. I started the instal process and read the EULA which said I needed a qualifying product to use Upgrade but that I could then no longer use that product. Does that mean if I put my ME disc in to verify that I qualify for an XP Upgrade I have to lose my ME instal or buy the full product? My ME instal is tied to the BIOS of my computer and is on the OEM recovery discs but I do have a full product WIN98 and a retail ME Upgrade. Can I work round this somehow? I do need to keep ME and dual boot.
    SMOKING KILLS! If you smoke, give it up now whilst you have the choice

  2. #2
    Avatar Goes Here Radical Dreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Fairmont, West Virginia
    Posts
    4,866

    Post

    Upgrade and ME is dead
    :::Asus A8N-Sli Premium:::AMD 3500+ @ 2.4ghz:::2x80GB 8mb cache RAID0 Array:::GeForce 7800GTX OC:::2GB Corsair XMS Memory:::500 Watt Enermax Liberty PSU:::16x Lite-on DVDRW:::

    Counter Strike Source Forum and Server @ http://www.nvpclan.com -=Ninjas Vs. Pirates=-

  3. #3
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824

    Post

    Have you checked using the microsoft hcl whether you machine can run XP successfully?

    Technically dual booting using the upgrade disk is against the EULA. The work around would be to buy and full copy of XP.

    If you upgrade and it works you will not have access to the ME installation - that is the purpose of an upgrade. If the installation fails you will have to restore from your recovery disks and then use the upgrade diskette again, as I believe (although I am not sure) that XP will not find a qualifying product on a restore disk if you tried to do a clean XP install from the upgrade disk.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  4. #4
    Registered User MorseLady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Hertfordshire UK
    Posts
    834

    Post

    OK, I have an idea I would like to run past you. I own a full retail version of WIN98 and a retail upgrade of ME, as well as the ME tied to BIOS OEM version that came preinstalled with my computer which I am presently using. The products are not installed on any other machine now so I am therefore legally free to use them on this machine.

    Suppose I create another FAT32 Partition using PM7 and instal my W98 on it and then Upgrade that to XP? That would be perfectly legal because I own the aforesaid OSs but would there be a conflict with my original ME installation which by the way I have just rebuilt after formatting the drive? I would of course want to convert to NTFS with the XP.

    Yes, Noo Noo, I have already run the Upgrade Adviser with all my applications and web development tools loaded and have downloaded the drivers and upfdates I need which I have burned to a dedicated CD ROM. I also installed more memory. I have also checked with Hewlett Packard that this computer can run XP and have downloaded their recommended upgrades - yes the computer is XP ready.

    I was so looking forward to installing and running XP and I guess it's champers when I finally do it!
    SMOKING KILLS! If you smoke, give it up now whilst you have the choice

  5. #5
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824

    Post

    Then leave ME where it is, install xp to a new partition, when it asks for a qualifying licence, give it the 98se licence... I assume this is not been installed elsewhere....

    Have fun!
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  6. #6
    Registered User MorseLady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Hertfordshire UK
    Posts
    834

    Post

    Thanks NooNoo. I confirm that the retail products I own of 98 full, 98SE full and ME Upgrade are not being used on any other computer. My old computers all have 95 or DOS/WFW on them. The one that was running 98 I broke trying to instal NT4!

    So here we go then, I will create a new partition, instal 98 and Upgrade to that.

    Thanks everyone, see you as an XP User soon!
    SMOKING KILLS! If you smoke, give it up now whilst you have the choice

  7. #7
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824

    Post

    Gogha, you do not need to install 98 first, you can go straight to XP and when it asks you for your qualifying software, you feed it your 98se licence.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  8. #8
    Avatar Goes Here Radical Dreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Fairmont, West Virginia
    Posts
    4,866

    Post

    </font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">Originally posted by NooNoo:
    <strong>Gogha, you do not need to install 98 first, you can go straight to XP and when it asks you for your qualifying software, you feed it your 98se licence.</strong></font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">I thought that you just gave it the cd?
    :::Asus A8N-Sli Premium:::AMD 3500+ @ 2.4ghz:::2x80GB 8mb cache RAID0 Array:::GeForce 7800GTX OC:::2GB Corsair XMS Memory:::500 Watt Enermax Liberty PSU:::16x Lite-on DVDRW:::

    Counter Strike Source Forum and Server @ http://www.nvpclan.com -=Ninjas Vs. Pirates=-

  9. #9
    Chat Operator Matridom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,778

    Post

    </font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">Originally posted by Radical Dreamer:
    <strong> </font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">Originally posted by NooNoo:
    <strong>Gogha, you do not need to install 98 first, you can go straight to XP and when it asks you for your qualifying software, you feed it your 98se licence.</strong></font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">I thought that you just gave it the cd?</strong></font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">That's what i thought too. I know the 9x upgrades act that way.
    <Ferrit> Take 1 live chicken, cut the head off, dance around doing the hokey pokey and chanting: GO AWAY BAD VIRUS, GO AWAY BAD VIRUS
    -----------------------
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Asus P5QL Deluxe
    Intel Q6600
    nVidia 8800 GTS 320
    6 gigs of Ram
    2x60 gig OCZ Vertex SSD (raid 0)
    WD Black 750 gig
    Antec Tri power 750 Watt PSU
    Lots of fans

  10. #10
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824

    Post

    OK guys you got me, I don't upgrade as a rule and I have done 2 clean installs from upgrade disks and I couldn't remember. I know you can do it, thats all!
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  11. #11
    Registered User Archer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Blighty
    Posts
    4,224

    Post

    </font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"> Gogha, you do not need to install 98 first, you can go straight to XP and when it asks you for your qualifying software, you feed it your 98se licence. </font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Trebuchet MS, Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">Rather odd considering all the trouble MS went to to prevent software piracy as there are many keys available out there,it rather begs the question of why to buy the full licence if a CD is not required.

  12. #12
    Registered User MorseLady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Hertfordshire UK
    Posts
    834

    Post

    Hi,

    I have just come back and seen the most recent messages. I have done a successful Upgrade on the Windows 98 Partition I created and am now running XP. The Upgrade went very smoothly and I converted to NTFS during instal. I am picking it up very fast - so much so that when I went back to my ME Partition I had to stop and think for a minute!

    Yes, I like XP, very much, and thanks to everyone on this forum for your help over the past few weeks whilst I was preparing myself and my computer for XP with the box sitting unopened on my bookshelf and in the end it was so easy!
    SMOKING KILLS! If you smoke, give it up now whilst you have the choice

  13. #13
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824

    Post

    Glad we could help. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Wink]" src="wink.gif" />
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  






×
We have made updates to our Privacy Policy to reflect the implementation of the General Data Protection Regulation.