.PL error
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: .PL error

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    84

    Post .PL error

    hey, i have a perl script that you active such as

    url/script.pl?image=mouse.gif

    as an example, and in the middle of the custom page, mouse.gif would appear.

    but, this has some problems..

    sometimes when you click the link to the .pl? etc.. it'll show 404 Error.. and you have to keep hitting REFRESH to get it to appear (many times sometimes)

    is there a way to fix this? also
    i saw someone use .ASP for the same thing i am doing.

    anyone have any code for that if there is no way to perfect the .PL script?

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    The large sandbar north of Cuba
    Posts
    506

    Post

    Using asp you could do something like

    url.asp?image=mouse.gif

    Note: Using | in place of <> due to UBB.

    |table width="100%" align="center" height="100%"|
    |tr|
    |td align="center" valign="middle"|
    |img src="imgdir/|%=request.quesrystring("image")%|" align="absmiddle"|
    |/td|
    |/tr|
    |/table|

    Only thing I can suggest on the perl script is it sounds like your script maybe timing out.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    84

    Post

    I've tried
    |img src="images/|%=request.quesrystring("image")%|"|

    replacing the FIRST and LAST | with the brackets for html

    and
    |img src="images/|%=request.quesrystring("image")%|"|

    replacing ALL | with the brackets

    with url
    a href="sshots.asp?image=satview.gif"

    and it GOES to the page.. but the image is a place holder (invalid image)

    and if you go into source code view, it just shows the html tag that i used above

    thanks

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    The large sandbar north of Cuba
    Posts
    506

    Post

    Your source code has

    {img src="dirpath/{%=request.querystring("image")%}"}

    after the page is rendered? If so then are you just linking to it on your local machine for testing? ASP has to be run on a server(or a workstation running either IIS or other webserver/asp engine and then accessed with somthing like http://localhost/sshot.asp?image=satview.gif or www.foo.com/sshot.asp?image=satview.gif) since the asp code is a server side script that is run before the html is rendered. If you are seeing code then the asp is not being run.
    http://www.w3schools.com/asp/asp_intro.asp goes over the very basics of asp.

    Also used {} instead of | for the brackets. Think it makes it a little eaiser to read the code. If you see a { replace with <.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    84

    Post

    yea, are ALL of the { and } changed to the html BRACKETS?

    when i do that it shows
    {img src="images/{%=request.quesrystring("image")%}"}

    in the SOURCE CODE, and it shows an image place holder then "} (html bracket instead)


    secondly, yea, it's a domain so it supports .asp

    anyways, each time i've uploaded it and tested it on the domain.
    it isn't working arggggg

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    The large sandbar north of Cuba
    Posts
    506

    Post

    Will just mail you the code.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •