Could be anything...

Thread: Could be anything...

Exclamation Could be anything...

...well not anything, but here goes.

At first, I just thought my system had started doing un-commanded stand-by's. I'd come back to the computer after an hour or so and it'd have the little yellow light on instead of the green one. (Like when systems go on standby.) Only thing was, is I couldn't get it out of standby. I'd have to physically un-plug the power cord from the system and re-plug it back in.

So, I went in my power settings and told it never, ever do that again. (It wasn't set to...anyway, but I specifically chose "DO NOT enter..") Well, things were pretty happy for a few days.

Today, I'm doing some directory restructuring ON THE MACHINE and it did it again. It just *POOF!, went to "stand-by". It was like the power went out in the house.

Now, I'm not a novice user, so...please get as technical as you want. I just have no idea where to start. It could be power supply, motherboard, OS settings....just about anything. But to help narrow it down...it's a Gateway 700 series with 1.8 P4, 512 RAMBUS, GeForce 3 64MB, Soundblaster something or the other... Pretty standard system.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm sure I'll end up dumping the OS and fresh installing from fdisk/format. That way, if it happens again I can at LEAST narrow it down to hardware. (Oh yeah, XP SP1 IS installed.) Thanks in advance!
    if(post.eof()){SigBox.setText("Have A Day.");}

I had a similar problem when I put XP on my laptop. The standard windows power management settings were poo, and also my battery was dying in like 15 minutes.

I downloaded the power-management software for my model (from Toshiba, in this case) and it fixed it. Have you done the same for your Gateway? (assuming you can find anything on their worthless f%$%*#@ site).
    Do You Realize? - that you have the most beautiful face
    Do You Realize? - we're floating in space -
    Do You Realize? - that happiness makes you cry