No Sound!

Thread: No Sound!

No Sound!

hey all,
    I'm very new to all this. Okay, here are my specs:

1.2GHz AMD athlon processor
    128MB SDRAM memory
    60.0GB Ultra DMA hard drive

I have just reformatted my drive C, so everything should be fine you would think, nope. Well, all is well except i have no sound coming from my speakers. The thing is i looked on the DEVICE manager and there is no label of SOUND, MULTIMEDIA and GAME CONTROLLERS as there should be. There is a sound card installed, i just don't know what kind it is, can anyone give me info on how to find out what type of sound card i have, i've been looking through every single damn manual,i guess i must've lost it consdiering i've had this computer for a good 3 years. either way, i've tried ADD NEW HARDWARE from the control panel, and nada. before i reformatted, i saw that my device was a CRYSTAL WDM audio, now there is nothing. and even when i restart windows does not find new hardware such as a sound card, i mean its right there in the computer, i dont know where else it could've run off to. can someone please help me? thanks
    peace
    m.l

you can try downloading HWINFO32 installing it and running it to show you hardware in your system. then it is a matter of searching for the correct driver. if the audio is a add-on card you can open the case and take a look to see what labels mite be on the card, but if the audio is built into the motherboard you will need to know the maker of the motherboard. HWINFO32 will tell you all this and more. let us know what you find out and we can help you find the rite driver.

Windows Plug and Play is not detecting your sound device for some reason. There could be a couple of reasons for this.

1. If it's an on-board sound device it could be disabled in the BIOS.