smoothwall logs

Thread: smoothwall logs

Hybrid View

smoothwall logs

Hey guys & gals. Just got a quick question. Does any1 know how to adjust the logs size in Smoothwall? It seems to be set for only a few days by default & one of our customers will need to look as far back as a month when we set it up. Any ideas?

Welcome Manny (since this is post number 2)

I think the default 'length' of any smoothwall logs is a month (4 weeks) ... any longer or 'bigger' than that required & you have to figure out how to export them to something else to keep a 'longer' picture ....

This quote might help too ...
    Start LogViewer and click on "Save Logs." Make sure that "Append the logs to the existing file" and "Automatically save the logs into the files" are checked. Change the file sizes for the incoming and outgoing files to as large as you can. Uncheck "stop logging when logs exceed the specified filesize."
    I'm only a linux newbie so don't take my word for it

Smile

Pleased 2 meet u confus-ed

Sorry I should have been a lil more descriptive. I'm not quite sure what you mean by the logviewer? The problem is when you looking at your smoothwall box over http and you click on the logs tab, when you select the web proxy, firewall & IDS I seem to only be able 2 c the past 2 days worth of info. Any ideas? I'm a linux newbie, but I no enuff 2 navigate around the shell & I can't seem to find any .conf file for the log file settings or I could be looking in the wrong places entirely hehe.

Errrr ummm maybe different versions ... can you confirm which you are using ... I just click 'logs' from the main screen .... like here ...

I'm using 0.9.9 SE apparently !