Problems with USB Mass Storage Device

Thread: Problems with USB Mass Storage Device

Problems with USB Mass Storage Device

Hi, this is my first time here, so I hope you can help me! I got a GE USB 16MB UltraDrive for Christmas and can't seem to get it working. I'm running Windows XP and there are no drivers for the device ~ it's plug and play. So I plug it in and it's recognized just fine ... it installs and shows up under "My Computer" as drive E. However, when I try to write to the device, I get this error:

"Cannot copy {filename}: Cannot find the specified file. Make sure you specify the correct path and file name."

I've checked the device manager and everything seems to be working fine. But in XP's error log I find this entry every time I try to save to the device:

"An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\D during a paging operation."

I don't know what to do! I don't have a hub ... I'm running the home version of Windows XP (Version 2002) on a Pentium 4 CPU with a 1.5 GHz processor and 256 MB of RAM. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you!

Quote Originally Posted by jherusalem
    Hi, this is my first time here, so I hope you can help me! I got a GE USB 16MB UltraDrive for Christmas and can't seem to get it working. I'm running Windows XP and there are no drivers for the device ~ it's plug and play. So I plug it in and it's recognized just fine ... it installs and shows up under "My Computer" as drive E. However, when I try to write to the device, I get this error:

"Cannot copy {filename}: Cannot find the specified file. Make sure you specify the correct path and file name."

I've checked the device manager and everything seems to be working fine. But in XP's error log I find this entry every time I try to save to the device:

"An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\D during a paging operation."