Linksys wireless & Suse 9.0
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Linksys wireless & Suse 9.0

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10

    Question Linksys wireless & Suse 9.0

    I have Suse 9.0 and my linksys wusb11 ver 2.6 do not work. I had a go at the drivers at http://www.linux-wlan.com/linux-wlan/, but still can not get it to work. If anyone know how to fix this, please let me know

  2. #2
    Registered User Gollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan US of A
    Posts
    2,383
    What have you accomplished so far? Does it show up as an available nic? If not post us the out put of the command "dmesg" and "lsmod"

    (To get a text file with the out put of said commands type in "dmesg > dmesg.out" and "lsmod > lsmod.out" This will create a text file called dmesg.out and lsmod.out in the current directory with the output of both commands. Remember to "su" before running them Copy and paste the content here)
    "I feel like one of those mass murderers on death row. I never understood how the hell they got more chicks than I did. Now I know. They sold crap on eBay." -- Anonymous ebayer

    "I figured out what's wrong with life: it's other people." -- Dilbert

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10
    I think I got the driver loaded, if do ''iwconfig'' this is what I get:

    linux:/home/ekke85 # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    sit0 no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 ATMEL RFMD503A ESSID:"ujcnet2" Nickname:"ujcnet2"
    Mode:Managed Channel:11 Access Point: 00:06:25:57:6E:96
    Bit Rate:11Mb/s
    RTS thr=2347 B Fragment thr=2346 B
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality:100 Signal level:30 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    Then if I unplug the usb device and plug it back in and run ''iwconfig'' again this is what I get:

    linux:/home/ekke85 # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    sit0 no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11-DS ESSID:"okuwlan"
    Mode:Ad-Hoc Channel:10 Cell: 00:00:00:00:00:00
    Bit Rate:11Mb/s
    RTS thr=1536 B Fragment thr=1536 B
    Encryption keyff
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    So it looks like I have two drivers that is willing to work, but I am not sure how to get my encryption key in there and how to see the rest of the network, so if anybody can help me, I will be a very happy puppy.
    Last edited by ekke85; April 24th, 2004 at 04:22 PM.

  4. #4
    Registered User Gollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan US of A
    Posts
    2,383
    Ah ok. Well try this. Seeing that you have two different ssid's I will assume it is ucjnet2.

    If all's you have to do is enable the encrytpion then type in at the command prompt (assuming you have not unplugged the device and then plugged it in again): "iwconfig eth1 key xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx" (the x's represent your key) Once input then type "dhcpcd eth1" Same thing should go for the wlan0 interface too. Post back and let us know how it goes.
    Last edited by Gollo; April 25th, 2004 at 09:53 PM.
    "I feel like one of those mass murderers on death row. I never understood how the hell they got more chicks than I did. Now I know. They sold crap on eBay." -- Anonymous ebayer

    "I figured out what's wrong with life: it's other people." -- Dilbert

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10
    Another thing is that if my Linux starts up the card is eth1 under iwconfig, should it not be wlan0?

  6. #6
    Registered User Gollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan US of A
    Posts
    2,383
    Not necesarily. Some of the drivers (ie the orinoco driver) work for different hardware types. I'm guessing it is the one that is loading first. Then when you unplug the nic it doesn't unload and so when you plug the nic back in it looks for a driver for said device sees the orinoco is in use and loads the next best thing. If it works then I wouldn't worry to much about wich driver is loading.
    "I feel like one of those mass murderers on death row. I never understood how the hell they got more chicks than I did. Now I know. They sold crap on eBay." -- Anonymous ebayer

    "I figured out what's wrong with life: it's other people." -- Dilbert

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10
    ok, but I have already reinstalled every thing. After the reinstall I ran iwconfig and I still had this:

    linux:~ # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    sit0 no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 ATMEL RFMD503A ESSID:"ujcnet2" Nickname:"ujcnet2"
    Mode:Managed Channel:11 Access Point: 00:06:25:57:6E:96
    Bit Rate:11Mb/s
    RTS thr=2347 B Fragment thr=2346 B
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality:100 Signal level:25 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    In YAST under the network devices I can install a wireless device and can pick the prism_2 module, but in the startup detail when SUSE 9.0 start my network things it says wlan0....failed? My device in iwconfig pick up as eth1, should that not be wlan0? If I unplug the nic and plug it back in I get the same result as before the reistall? Also if I put in all my network settings and do dhcpcd eth1 or after unplug dhcpcd wlan0 it comes back with:

    linux:~ # dhcpcd eth1
    linux:~ # dhcpcd-hook: Skipping 'ifdown $INTERFACE -o dhcp' call

    linux:~ # dhcpcd wlan0
    linux:~ # dhcpcd-hook: Skipping 'ifdown $INTERFACE -o dhcp' call
    Last edited by ekke85; April 26th, 2004 at 12:13 PM.

  8. #8
    Registered User Gollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan US of A
    Posts
    2,383
    for starters we should turn off wep until we rule out that it is a driver issue. By turning off wep all's you need is the ssid and that's it. It looks to me though that the nic is associating to the ap already. Verify this by checking the mac address of the ap to the mac address listed under Access Point in your iwconfig
    eth1 ATMEL RFMD503A ESSID:"ujcnet2" Nickname:"ujcnet2"
    Mode:Managed Channel:11 Access Point: 00:06:25:57:6E:96
    Bit Rate:11Mb/s
    RTS thr=2347 B Fragment thr=2346 B
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality:100 Signal level:25 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
    If this is the same ap then you should be able to pull an ip (dhcpcd eth1) If this is NOT your ap then somebody else in the area has an ap and you are probably connecting to theirs (don't you just love automated connects? )
    "I feel like one of those mass murderers on death row. I never understood how the hell they got more chicks than I did. Now I know. They sold crap on eBay." -- Anonymous ebayer

    "I figured out what's wrong with life: it's other people." -- Dilbert

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10
    In "dmesg" just as it starts to load the usb drivers and the Atmel driver, the MAC Address of the nic is in there.
    In "iwconfig" the MAC Address/Access Point is different, but if I give the nic a ip address, the MAC Address shows up in "ifconfig". I done "dchcdp eth1", but it still comes back with:
    linux:~ # dhcpcd eth1
    linux:~ # dhcpcd-hook: Skipping 'ifdown $INTERFACE -o dhcp' call
    Thanks for all your help so far.

  10. #10
    Registered User Gollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan US of A
    Posts
    2,383
    Ok so the mac address that shows up in the iwconfig eth1 (the bolded section in my last post) is NOT the same as your access points mac address? The mac bolded above and the mac of your ap should be the SAME. Do you have another system running windows that you could plug that adapter in and see what other networks are in the area? If you do go grab netstumbler 0.40 and see if it pulls anything else up. It sounds to me that it is connecting to a network. Just not yours.

    Which of the two ssid's listed above is yours? ujcnet2 or okuwlan Cause it looks like it is seeing at least two networks.
    "I feel like one of those mass murderers on death row. I never understood how the hell they got more chicks than I did. Now I know. They sold crap on eBay." -- Anonymous ebayer

    "I figured out what's wrong with life: it's other people." -- Dilbert

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10
    Sorry I was so quite, but I went on a short holiday. I tried that netstumbler and the mac address that it picks up the first time around is the address of the ujcnet2 network. I also tried the enc key again but still nothing.

  12. #12
    Registered User Gollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan US of A
    Posts
    2,383
    Is the ujcnet2 network yours or is it somebody elses in the area?
    "I feel like one of those mass murderers on death row. I never understood how the hell they got more chicks than I did. Now I know. They sold crap on eBay." -- Anonymous ebayer

    "I figured out what's wrong with life: it's other people." -- Dilbert

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10
    ujcnet2 is the network in the building where I live, that is the local net work that has been setup for us to use. I connect to it in my windows.

Similar Threads

  1. Linksys wireless network card in IBM Thinkpad T23
    By imcol in forum Internet and Networking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: July 15th, 2004, 10:56 AM
  2. Linksys USB wireless problem
    By Gollo in forum Linux
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 14th, 2004, 12:42 AM
  3. Ximian on SuSE 9.0 PRO?
    By NEPATEC in forum Linux
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 8th, 2004, 02:15 PM
  4. Linksys wireless router antenna connectors
    By mongo69 in forum Networking
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: September 3rd, 2003, 10:26 AM
  5. linksys wireless pci adapter
    By and_1_69 in forum Tech-To-Tech
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 28th, 2001, 08:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •