How to delete System32\f0r0r trojan folder?
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: How to delete System32\f0r0r trojan folder?

Exclamation How to delete System32\f0r0r trojan folder?

Hi, I'm a newbie here...looking for any help or input on this.

There is apparently a fairly new fearsome trojan that sits in the system32 folder, within a folder invisible to Windows XP (my OS). The folder is call "f0r0r" and contains these hidden files:

calcu.exe
    dirote.exe
    dorod.ini
    logs //DIR//
    redroses
    van32.exe
    demo.xt
    dordo.sys
    kltye.exe //Sys Internals PS Tool to start remote processes//
    niamx //RPC SCanner//
    romto
    wexp.exe
    dir32.exe
    dorod.exe
    kolder.exe
    ppi.exe
    sounds //DIR//

I managed to shut down dirote.exe in task manager which allowed me to delete all references to files within this folder from the registry....so it does not seem to be restarting any of these trojans each time I reboot as it was before and, for the time being, it doesn't seem to be reinstalling them in the registry. Apparently, from what I've gleaned from other forums/posts/sites, Windows cannot see this folder and when I try to delete it from the Windows XP boot disk, using the command prompt, it says "Access denied"...citing the dordo.sys file within the folder specifically.

I'm behind a firewall, have all the Service Pack updates, and I've run many different spyware detectors on this, along with my Norton Anti-Virus. Norton occassionally would pick up a rash of virus activity with one or another of the trojan programs in that folder, but never could do anything about the folder itself and it said "Access Denied" when trying to delete any of the files.

Is there any way to delete this folder using a Dos bootup and command prompt, from outside Windows completely? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to WD carbine9...

If you start your machine in safe mode you should be able to delete the files\folder.