Surge protection
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Surge protection

Surge protection

What is the general concensus here on surge protection power bars? I've recently had a number of computers come in and end up being replaced due to the large number of thunderstorms. It's usually around now this happens. But what's got me a bit worried is the fact that 4 of the machine were on surge protection bars. 2 of them were the "cheap" surge protection bars, and 1 was on an APC 3 year old surge bar, and 1 was on a relatively new APC bar... The latter two are surge bars "specifically for computers and related equipment. Do these things have to be replaced every so often? like once a year just before the start of the T-Storm months maybe? I'm not an expert with electricity or protection from surges. I've been wondering if I should start insisting people change them after a certain length of time. I've also heard that once they've been hit, they don't respond properly anymore. I've also heard that the "Surge protection" light on the new ones is just a guess... Help me dispell any misconceptions about these things so I can offer a better explanation and advice to my customers....
    "We must always fear the wicked. But there is another kind of evil that we must fear the most, and that is the indifference of good men." -- Monsignor; The Boondock Saints.

Quote Originally Posted by arch0nmyc0n