mandrake 10 shutdown problems
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: mandrake 10 shutdown problems

  1. #1
    Registered User craigmodius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Hellmira, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,572

    mandrake 10 shutdown problems

    I just installed Mandrake 10 and now when I go to shutdown or log out the screen just blacks out and the power is still running etc.

    First install was an upgrade from mandrake 9.1, then when I was getting this shutdown problem, I did a format and fresh install of 10. Even with a fresh install, same problem.

    I had no problems with 9.1, everything shutdown or logged out fine.

    As far as details go~ this is a KDE only install, Mandrake 10, not much of anything running. motherboard= MSI 6340 v 3.0 (K7TM Pro), videocard=ATI Rage Fury Pro. I can give any more details needed just ask.

    thanks
    "And just when I thought today couldn't get anymore poo-like." -Outcoded

  2. #2
    Registered User +Daemon+'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    RC, Ca
    Posts
    3,406
    Quote Originally Posted by craigmodius
    I just installed Mandrake 10 and now when I go to shutdown or log out the screen just blacks out and the power is still running etc.

    First install was an upgrade from mandrake 9.1, then when I was getting this shutdown problem, I did a format and fresh install of 10. Even with a fresh install, same problem.

    I had no problems with 9.1, everything shutdown or logged out fine.

    As far as details go~ this is a KDE only install, Mandrake 10, not much of anything running. motherboard= MSI 6340 v 3.0 (K7TM Pro), videocard=ATI Rage Fury Pro. I can give any more details needed just ask.

    thanks
    u need to recompile the kernel with acpi enabled and the power features

  3. #3
    Registered User Titchski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    FLA, Orig. Birmingham UK
    Posts
    911
    On my Gentoo install, only root can shutdown the pc. If you log in as root on the Mandrake box and then shutdown, does it work properly?
    Bollocks

  4. #4
    Registered User craigmodius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Hellmira, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,572
    first off, thanks so far guys

    Titchski~ everyone is set to be able to shutdown the computer. I experience the same results when logged in as root.

    Daemon~ I googled out alotta stuff on acpi and mandrake. Under my bootup config options from the Mandrake control center there is a checkmark to enable acpi, which I have selected. 2 services which I have running in the background are acpi and acpid. Still no luck. As far as I can tell from my reading acpi support is built into the mandrake 10 kernel. (Kernel 2.6.3)

    I'm under the impression that the BIOS version I have doesn't support acpi, I believe there is only APM options. The latest bios has this fix listed...

    Fixed that ToolsEvent ViewerSystemACPI error when system enters S1 status under WinXP
    I'm not running XP on this, but it leads me to believe there are acpi issues with this board. So I'm thinking that if I flash my bios that may fix it. I'm just hesitant to do that because of how it can go wrong

    I'm going to double and triple check things, I downloaded the latest manual for the motherboard, and it mentions ACPI options that I don't think I have on this bios version, but I'm going to confirm that before thinking about flashing it.
    "And just when I thought today couldn't get anymore poo-like." -Outcoded

  5. #5
    Registered User +Daemon+'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    RC, Ca
    Posts
    3,406
    apm will work to, if u can get it working, why are you not sure about getting the latest bios? Should fine.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Knoxville Tn
    Posts
    152
    I'm running Mandrake 10.0. I don't have any shutdown issues. I have two users set up and both can shut down the system.

    I have a relative new motherboard ASUS a7n8x-x. That might be the difference. I am running the 2.6 kernel.

    I'm a real newbie to Linux so I can't be much help, only say that 10.0 shuts down ok for me.

    I'm having all kinds of problems with my wireless network though. I have given up trying to get it to work for now. Just seems like the newer version of 10.0 should have better support for wireless than it does. That has been my pain in the xxx......

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    38
    APM and ACPI won't work together in the linux kernel. Most of the time, ACPI will do most of the work because it tends to get loaded first. Dunno why that is, order in some script file or another I guess. But, once it's loaded, it can block APM from loading. So, try building the kernel with just APM options, and see if that fixes or helps out any.

    PS, Charlescpc, PM'ed you, just had some practice with wireless cards, might be able to help ya some.

  8. #8
    Registered User craigmodius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Hellmira, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,572
    well last week I was in the bookstore and seeing all the books on Fedora pushed me to dump Mandrake and go back to Redhat.

    so now I'm running Fedora with no shutdown/logout issues.

    almost everything seems pretty smooth so far

    thanks for the help guys.
    "And just when I thought today couldn't get anymore poo-like." -Outcoded

Similar Threads

  1. shutdown problems with roxio
    By TRICKPLAYER in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: December 8th, 2001, 10:46 AM
  2. [RESOLVED] Access Violation by Explorer.exe
    By jontyrp in forum Windows NT/2000
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 7th, 2001, 07:51 PM
  3. [RESOLVED] win98se shutdown problems
    By dumb blonde in forum Tech-To-Tech
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: February 9th, 2001, 04:37 PM
  4. [RESOLVED] update on Win98SE shutdown problems
    By gemstone in forum Windows 95/98/98SE/ME
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 17th, 2000, 09:03 PM
  5. [RESOLVED] *Still* having Win '98 shutdown problems
    By Jonnyg in forum Windows 95/98/98SE/ME
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 19th, 2000, 07:32 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •