Serious error message when I try playing DVD

Thread: Serious error message when I try playing DVD

Serious error message when I try playing DVD

Hi. I'm pretty new to computers. Please help. I bought a brand new computer with a dvd player with no software installed. My first attempt at playing a dvd yeilded an error message saying it could not detect a decoder. When I read up in windows help menu, it said i needed a dvd decoder and possibly a driver (things I really do not understand) and directed to to cyberlink website, where I proceeded to purchase powerdvd se decoder for $14. I then successfully downloaded it. Then successfully installed it. Then when I tried playing my dvd, it pulled up Windows media player, looked like it was about to play, and then BOOM! It restarted my computer. Before I could get back to my desktop, my computer proceeded to check file systems on C for consistency. The type of file system is FAT32. It also showed a volume serial #. It seemed to complete the consistency check. Then when I finally got back to my desktop, it showed an error message saying: Microsoft Windows
    The system has recovered from a serious error.

It then gave me the option to send an error report, which I did. I then got a response from microsoft saying the problem was a result of some issue with my driver, but it could not give an specifics. The response is posted below: