In Desperate Need to Fix a USB 2.0 Problem with XP

Thread: In Desperate Need to Fix a USB 2.0 Problem with XP

Exclamation In Desperate Need to Fix a USB 2.0 Problem with XP

Hey All -- I'm really freakin' out...

Quick Info:
    :::::::::
    I've been building custom Gaming Boxes for about 4 years for fun for my friends and friends kids etc.

I'm a WarGames programmer for the Military.
    :::::::::

The applicable stuff about my personal box I built about 2 years ago mainly used for a gaming box and an addition to a recording studio:
    P4 2.53Mhz
    SA7 Abit Motherboard which is the SIS645DX Chipset
    I believe it only has either USB 1 or 1.1 onboard.
    Windows XP Pro (all updated via Windows Update)

What I recently bought:
    An external Western Digital USB 2.0 250Gb drive
    An external MadDog Combo DVD burner

Through the integrated USB on the SA7 both devices work solid and fine but are slow (assumably due to the 1.0 or 1.1 USB).

So I bought a cheap ($20) USB 2.0 PCI card and installed all the USB 2.0 stuff I could find via Windows Update etc.

Problem::
    Both drives when they are plugged in and working they are fast, reliable etc. However they only stay up for a few minutes. After awhile the USB 2.0 Hard-drive especially, won't write or read, then it just kinda goes away. The DVD burner is a little more reliable but not much.

What in the world is going on? This problem makes me furious because there are no hardware conflicts, I did everything I was supposed to do on the Windows Site, and how do you debug something that makes your USB 2.0 drives "just sorta go away?" And if I cycle the power the Hard-drive usually comes back and says that the device has "malfunctioned."

But again -- it works (slowly) through the integrated USB.