How do i reboot my emachine runing on windows XP?
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31

Thread: How do i reboot my emachine runing on windows XP?

  1. #1
    Registered User wannabe programmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    in the knife shop
    Posts
    12

    Talking How do i reboot my emachine runing on windows XP?

    How do i reeboot my emachine ??? And no laughing

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    8,442
    Be a little more specific please, in your PM you mentioned original factory settings. What is it exactly that you are trying to do?

    A simple reboot is just holding down the power button long enough for it to turn off, or if all else fails pull the power cord. SOmething tells me you are wanting more though.

  3. #3
    Banned TripleRLtd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    SW Florida...eye of the storm.
    Posts
    7,251
    Click the Start Button and move the curson over "shut down". New window appears, choose "shut down" and click "OK".
    Unless, as cleetus suspects, there is more to this.
    Hey Cleetus: cool. ;-)

  4. #4
    Registered User notorious_carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Lima, OH
    Posts
    247
    in reboot do you mean to reload windows. if that is the case. back up all files you want to keep to disk or cd or something. and then put the system restore disk in the cdrom drive. and then restart the computer and follow the one screen instructions.
    ---------------------------------------------------
    "I've always been crazy, it has keep me from going insane"

  5. #5
    Banned TripleRLtd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    SW Florida...eye of the storm.
    Posts
    7,251
    Isn't this detective work fun?

  6. #6
    Registered User gizmo1_1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    root@localhost>
    Posts
    350

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by wannabe programmer
    How do i reeboot my emachine ???
    Please elaborate on what you are trying to do?

    reboot = ?
    • reload
    • reinstall O/S
    • System Restore
    • Restart
    • From a batch file (ex. SHUTDOWN -r -t 01)
    Last edited by gizmo1_1; September 29th, 2004 at 07:30 PM.
    It is a miracle that curiosity survives formal education. -- Albert Einstein
    It said 'Insert disk #3', but only two will fit. -- The average customer.
    "There is no need for any individual to have a computer in their home." – Ken Olson, President of Digital Equipment Corp., 1977 …….

    gizmo@inistec.com

  7. #7
    Registered User wannabe programmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    in the knife shop
    Posts
    12

    Cool

    ok ok ... and i thought u guys knew everything tut tut :P

    i wanan put it back so i have nothing installed on it like when you buy your P.c.
    van: yea i killed them all the wereworlfs, warlocks ,spammers,hackers,noobs

    Priest dude:now heres your crusifix
    Van:dude...thats a spoon
    Priest well its close enough, now holy water
    Van: that just some booze is'nt it
    Priest: umm...yes

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    North West England.
    Posts
    3,200
    Quote Originally Posted by wannabe programmer
    ok ok ... and i thought u guys knew everything tut tut :P

    i wanan put it back so i have nothing installed on it like when you buy your P.c.
    How do i reeboot my emachine ??? And no laughing

    the words you are after , are FDISK

    and format ,,


    what cd,s have you got ,,,or more importantlly what o/s do you want?



    only another 16 questions ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,


    ps ,we all know **** all ,,,we cheat , and read things on the internet

  9. #9
    Registered User wannabe programmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    in the knife shop
    Posts
    12

    Thumbs up

    i have got....

    System restore disk(s)
    van: yea i killed them all the wereworlfs, warlocks ,spammers,hackers,noobs

    Priest dude:now heres your crusifix
    Van:dude...thats a spoon
    Priest well its close enough, now holy water
    Van: that just some booze is'nt it
    Priest: umm...yes

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    North West England.
    Posts
    3,200
    ok , you have failed to tell us the make , or o/s.


    backup any data you want to keep.

    restart the machine , enter bios settup , and set first boot device to cd rom ,,

    exit settup , saving settings

    place restore disk in cd rom

    and reboot.


    dependant on mfg it may offer to install over orig , or completly install

    press the relevant button ,,,and sit and wait

  11. #11
    Registered User wannabe programmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    in the knife shop
    Posts
    12
    Ok i got to the bit where its gonna system restore thing but now its saying some thing about a ghost.txt. file and an invalid dump file. waddus tahta mean:P
    van: yea i killed them all the wereworlfs, warlocks ,spammers,hackers,noobs

    Priest dude:now heres your crusifix
    Van:dude...thats a spoon
    Priest well its close enough, now holy water
    Van: that just some booze is'nt it
    Priest: umm...yes

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    North West England.
    Posts
    3,200
    Quote Originally Posted by wannabe programmer
    Ok i got to the bit where its gonna system restore thing but now its saying some thing about a ghost.txt. file and an invalid dump file. waddus tahta mean:P
    what make model is the computer?


    is there a mfg name on the restore disk?

  13. #13
    Registered User wannabe programmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    in the knife shop
    Posts
    12
    ok on the disk it says Restore CD
    Ver 1.1
    Models 650does taht help ? and i know how to get it to the restore part now its just this ghost thing keep popping up and its driving me insane :P
    van: yea i killed them all the wereworlfs, warlocks ,spammers,hackers,noobs

    Priest dude:now heres your crusifix
    Van:dude...thats a spoon
    Priest well its close enough, now holy water
    Van: that just some booze is'nt it
    Priest: umm...yes

  14. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    North West England.
    Posts
    3,200
    third and final time of asking

    1:make of computer?

    2:model of computer

    3: operating system

  15. #15
    Registered User wannabe programmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    in the knife shop
    Posts
    12
    its an emachine the model is umm 620 i think and its running on XP
    van: yea i killed them all the wereworlfs, warlocks ,spammers,hackers,noobs

    Priest dude:now heres your crusifix
    Van:dude...thats a spoon
    Priest well its close enough, now holy water
    Van: that just some booze is'nt it
    Priest: umm...yes

Similar Threads

  1. [RESOLVED] 70-240: LETS DO THIS!!
    By 70-240 in forum Certification
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: February 20th, 2012, 02:35 AM
  2. who stole device manager?
    By ringo2143z in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: November 2nd, 2004, 12:28 AM
  3. Download Windows XP SP2 Final + Support Centre
    By TechZ in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 9th, 2004, 03:29 PM
  4. Boot write error
    By Araman in forum Windows NT/2000
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 6th, 2001, 04:24 AM
  5. [RESOLVED] W2K SP2??
    By Bjorn in forum Windows NT/2000
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 17th, 2001, 11:58 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •