Help with BIOS/video card

Thread: Help with BIOS/video card

Help with BIOS/video card

Ok so here is my situation...

I am running an eMachines T2596 that has an intergrated Intel graphics card - which is not good. Yesterday I found a 3dfx Voodoo4 4500 graphics card laying around my house.. so now I want to get it installed to play games.

I am completely new to this and do not know much, so pelase bare with me.

The first thing I did was turn my computer off, put the Voodoo card in an open PCI slot, and then turned the computer back on.... but it didnt work. I switched the monitor cord back into the regular vga port for the intel, and that didnt work either. So I took the Voodoo card out, and plugged everything back in, and it worked fine. (Basically nothing is showing up on the monitor with the Voodoo card in my computer... no matter which vga port it is hooked up to)

So this is where the BIOS comes into play(Phoenix 6.0).. someone told me to reboot my computer and press the delete button to access my 'bios'... this is my first time doing this, so i really didnt know what to do, other than look for somewhere to disable the onboard VGA.

I looked around, and couldnt find that, but I did find something that let me switch between PCI and onboard for my graphics. The weird thing is, is that it was already set to 'PCI'.

Does anyone here know what I can do to get this graphics card working? It really has me frustrated, and cannot find anyone to help me.

Has anyone heard of this problem before? Is there a solution? or am I just wasting my time?

I posted in the BIOS forum, because im not sure if i'm doing anything wrong when I go into the bios of my computer.... I looked EVERYWHERE and couldnt find anything else that had to do with disabling the onboard VGA.

If you know something, please take a second to help me out. If you know anyone who knows alot about graphics cards and installing them, please send them this link so they can give there input.