Webpage photo size?
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Webpage photo size?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17

    Webpage photo size?

    I like to use photo's for background on my webpage but I get complains sometime that people with larger screens are getting tileing <sp> where the photo start to repeat its selfs . I know one solution is to use very large files but then people with <56kb ISP's complain about taking so long to see the page. Is there a command what will insure that the screen is full without D/L-ing huge files ??

  2. #2
    Banned slavedriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    242

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by roehrle
    I like to use photo's for background on my webpage but I get complains sometime that people with larger screens are getting tileing <sp> where the photo start to repeat its selfs . I know one solution is to use very large files but then people with <56kb ISP's complain about taking so long to see the page. Is there a command what will insure that the screen is full without D/L-ing huge files ??

    Try using your xxx.jpg "border="0">

  3. #3
    Registered User Jeeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    9
    You could try to use CSS for the backgrounding. With CSS you can set the background image in the center and have a background color similar to the picture's. Keep in mind that with highly elaborate backgrounds it is hard to see the text, sometimes making people annoyed to the point of where they won't bother to return to the page.

  4. #4
    Registered User nzgfxguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    41
    Slavedriver - That won't work.

    JEEO - That won't work in netscape browsers, as netsape does not recognise the {background-position: center} property.

    roehrle - one thing that will work is to use the high resolution images like you are saying. But you should optimize the image so that it is around 60kb or below. You don't have to have large file sizes to display large images.

    I have designed several sites which have very large and complex photographic backgrounds and manage to keep page loading times down to less than 30 seconds on 56kb connections.

    The latest in user screen resolutions is that 1024 x 768 is the most dominant screen res (only just), but you should still be coding for 800 x 600 users as the standard base resolution.

    Also consider coding in CSS, that way you can specify that the page content shows before a large slow loading background image.


    The relentless pursuit of excellence.


  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17
    What is css ??

    If you go to the following 3 links you will see what I like to do with my webpage. I like to present information and at the same time also show some of my photos using all of the screen,

    http://www.kwiknet.net/~roehrle/EEYC/2004officersx.htm

    http://www.kwiknet.net/~roehrle/EEYC/special.html
    With thi following technique I am afraid that people won't page down to see the additional links.

    http://www.kwiknet.net/~roehrle/EEYC...on%20info.html

    Thanks for your help so far.

  6. #6
    Banned slavedriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    242
    Quote Originally Posted by roehrle
    What is css ??

    If you go to the following 3 links you will see what I like to do with my webpage. I like to present information and at the same time also show some of my photos using all of the screen,

    http://www.kwiknet.net/~roehrle/EEYC/2004officersx.htm

    http://www.kwiknet.net/~roehrle/EEYC/special.html
    With thi following technique I am afraid that people won't page down to see the additional links.

    http://www.kwiknet.net/~roehrle/EEYC...on%20info.html

    Thanks for your help so far.
    You could use this as a reference it has netscape help

    http://www.htmlgoodies.com/tutors/html_ref.html

    Another option is use 1 background and use java scripting and smaller photos

  7. #7
    Registered User WebHead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    8,208
    How about embedding the images as Flash files so they auto-size with the Window? I dunno,.. just a suggestion.
    Hello World

  8. #8
    Registered User nzgfxguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    41
    CSS is Cascading Style Sheets, it is a method of making the pages load without all the extra HTML coding that goes into normal HTML sites.

    It is also a way to specify what loads on your page and when it loads.

    I have done a bit of research into your problem and for a start I cannot see any of your images tiling in those links.

    The last page is VERY SLOW TO LOAD, the image is over 300kb, you need to trim this down to 100kb or less (preferably 60kb).

    I think there is a piece of javascript code somewhere that makes images resize with the browser too?


    The relentless pursuit of excellence.


  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    17
    [Thanks for taking the time to checkout my site. Yes 300KB's is much to large. Must of been a sleep when I loaded that file. I'll reduce it to a more resonable size like you suggested.

    The last page is VERY SLOW TO LOAD, the image is over 300kb, you need to trim this down to 100kb or less (preferably 60kb).

    If you come accross this code I would be interested in seeing it.
    Thanks again

    I think there is a piece of javascript code somewhere that makes images resize with the browser too?[/QUOTE]

  10. #10
    Registered User nzgfxguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    41
    Ok, one way to do it, is to have your whole page wrapped in a 100% width and height table. Then display the background image within that table and make it's widths and heights 100%.

    One problem with that though, is that if the page content is a lot larger than the image, it will stretch the image heightwise so the image looks kinda ugly.

    I have done a fir bit of searching for that javascript code but have had no luck, maybe someone else in here will have more success?


    The relentless pursuit of excellence.


  11. #11
    Registered User +Daemon+'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    RC, Ca
    Posts
    3,406
    u need a site that supports server side scripiting like asp or php

    then u have php or asp detect what browser and use javascript to get the screen size and then have it load diffrent size backgrounds for the rez it finds.

    kinda like my example page
    http://daemonprojects.com/banshee/

    it will auto setect the screen size and adjust the table to the rez

    php code of the site: index.php
    ------------------------------


    PHP Code:
      <?
      
    if ($_REQUEST["Startpage"] == 1) {
      
    ?>
      
      <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
      <html>
      <head>
      <title>Test page</title>
      <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
      <script language="JavaScript" type="text/JavaScript">
      <!--
      function MM_reloadPage(init) {  //reloads the window if Nav4 resized
        if (init==true) with (navigator) {if ((appName=="Netscape")&&(parseInt(appVersion)==4)) {
          document.MM_pgW=innerWidth; document.MM_pgH=innerHeight; onresize=MM_reloadPage; }}
        else if (innerWidth!=document.MM_pgW || innerHeight!=document.MM_pgH) location.reload();
      }
      MM_reloadPage(true);
      //-->
      </script>
      </head>
      
      <body leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
      <br>
      <?
      
    //Check screen size and adjust table
      
      
    if ($_REQUEST["W"] >= "1600X1200") {
          
    $tblwidth "1040";
      } 
      if (
    $_REQUEST["W"] == "1280X768" || $_REQUEST["W"] == "1280X1024") {
          
    $tblwidth "940";
      } 
      if (
    $_REQUEST["W"] == "1024X768" || $_REQUEST["W"] == "1152X864") {
          
    $tblwidth "840";
      } 
      if (
    $_REQUEST["W"] == "800X600") {
          
    $tblwidth "740";
      } 
      if (
    $_REQUEST["W"] == "600X480") {
          
    $tblwidth "640";
      } 
      
      echo 
    $tblwidth
      
      
    ?>
      
      </body>
      </html>
      <?
      
    } else {
      
    ?>
      <SCRIPT>
      <!--
      var screenW = screen.width;
      var screenH = screen.height;
      location.replace("index.php?Startpage=1&W=" + screenW + "X" + screenH);
      //-->
      </SCRIPT>
      <?
      
    }
      
    ?>
    -----------------
    Note: the above is in html/PHP so your site must support php for this to work
    Last edited by +Daemon+; December 28th, 2004 at 10:52 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. In Your Opinion what is the best....
    By DFW_Tech_Kenny in forum Tech Lounge & Tales
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: August 6th, 2001, 10:16 AM
  2. Fatty OR NTFS
    By MasterEvilAce in forum Tech-To-Tech
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: June 8th, 2001, 09:35 PM
  3. [RESOLVED] BIOs can see size but Win 98se cannot.
    By 200TDI in forum Hard Drive/IDE/SCSI Drivers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 27th, 2001, 11:26 AM
  4. SCSI Raid Stripe size
    By kannibul in forum Tech-To-Tech
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 23rd, 2001, 11:49 AM
  5. Out look, changed text size
    By Rejection Man in forum Tech-To-Tech
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 9th, 2001, 01:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •