Canon ZR Control but no Capture??

Thread: Canon ZR Control but no Capture??

Question Canon ZR Control but no Capture??

Hi, Im a noob to windrivers, Great site btw...

I am using the older Canon ZR with an HP Pavilion ZV5000 notebook with P4 3.2 Ghz/512MB RAM/128MB ATI 9000/60GB HD XP Home w/SP2 installed.

My challenge is this:

I hook my camera up to the notebook via the firewire port and any application used, Media Studio 7, Video Studio 8, and Windows Movie Maker recognize it but will not capture video. I can control "Play, FF, REW, etc..." functions but no capture. The viewing screen remains black. I have tried adding codecs, plugins, ATI WDM Capture drivers, and adjusting settings until I was blue in the face. I have also downloaded all possible updates to my knowledge from Microsoft. I have not seen any info provided by Canon on this issue but have seen similar problems from others.

If anyone can help, I would be forever greatful!!!

Thanks in advance.
    Tsunami

ZR controlled but will not capture

Hi,
    I have the same problem and have been looking for the solution for years. It used to have intermittant capture - sometimes it would, and sometimes it wouldn't. I tried to remedy this with all the updates and fixes and onw it's not intermittant, it doesn't work.
    Obviously the ZR will work, as I have just mentioned.
    Canon ZR, Win XP, Firewire thru Hercules Digifire 7.1 card and multi video capture software packages.
    It's not the software. I'm not sure on the Digifire card.
    I've never been able to refresh the video drivers, as XP unfortunately doesn't support refresh, it just say's you've got the latest. wonderful!
    I think the problems lies in Windows XP.
    After years of hunting for a solution (none yet), the only thing I can see possibly fixing it is a complete Operating system re-install, then all your software needs reinstalling in a good sequence.