Hi guys.

First of all I must apologise in advance if my questions can appear to you as a little bit stupid but I'm quite new to this kind of matters, so please be patient.

In short, recently I bought a NEC (chipset) Cardbus with 2 USB 2.0 ports for PCMCIA, as unfortunately I did damage the only USB 1.0 port of my old acer laptop (I've broken the plastic guide inside the port so that the connection with the external devices is not so easy as before. Crossing the fingers it still works, but I don't for how long).

The Cardbus works correctly when I plug in, for example, my photo camera, which is considered as a MASS STORAGE DEVICE. The files can be read and written on the SD card of the photo camera without any problem.

The problems arise when I try to plug in my Traxdata 128 MB Flash Drive because the same is not detected at all, nor any USB Flash driver is loaded and showed in the Device Manager. Instead the flash drive is immediately detected if I plug it in USB Port 1.0.

At the beginning I thought that traxdata could be fit for only 1.0 USB ports, but both the traxdata drivers cd rom and traxdata website say that this pen drive is a 2.0 USB device, even compatible with 1.0 USB ports.

For your information the following items appear in the Device Manager.

USB Controllers
Hub USB Root
Hub USB Root
Hub USB Root
Open Host Controller ALi from PCI to USB
Open Host Controller NEC PCI USB
Open Host Controller NEC PCI USB

Universal Serial Bus controllers
PCI Class USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controler
USB 2.0 Root Hub Device

When I plug the traxdata flash drive in the laptop USB Port 1.0 the same is immediately detected and the USB Flash Disk drivers appear in the Device Manager as follows:

Hard disk controller
Controller IDE Bus Master PCI M5229 ALi
Master IDE controller (FIFO double)
Slave IDE Controller
USB Flash Disk
USB Flash Disk