PHP on computer? - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 25 of 25

Thread: PHP on computer?

  1. #16
    Registered User WebHead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    8,208
    Hi there,

    The thing is, the output is always html. PHP is just a scripting language that adds dynamic functions to your webpage (like for building forms, etc). *hehe*. Kinda like javascript. You can't code a whole *lol* website in PHP. Plus PHP functions server-side rather than client-side such as html.

    WebHead...
    Hello World

  2. #17
    Registered User inferno_gn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    698
    Hi there,

    Well, will my Anime website benefit PHP? Or is there a way that I can put a text box that can be seen in all pages, but when updated, I only updated once and it will update it all.

    Ju Leon...
    Otaku Anime Network
    http://www.otakuanime.com/

    Guardian Of The Sailor Scouts Universe
    http://www.guardiansenshi.net/

    The Sailor Scouts Gallery
    http://www.kawaiisenshi.com/

  3. #18
    Registered User CeeBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,494
    Installing PHP is piece of cake... Same for Apache... If you are building a php website I don't see any reason for using IIS. Take few more minutes and install MySQL... In 15-20 minutes you can have the whole package installed and configured.
    But from what you are saying it looks like you don't have an optimized infrastructure of the website...
    Protected by Glock. Don't mess with me!

  4. #19
    Chat Operator Matridom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,778
    Quote Originally Posted by inferno_gn
    Hi there,

    Well, will my Anime website benefit PHP? Or is there a way that I can put a text box that can be seen in all pages, but when updated, I only updated once and it will update it all.

    Ju Leon...
    php setup correctly allows for easier maintenance of websites and allows for dynamic updates. with included and other functions you could get it to do what you want it to do. (look at my site and daemon's website for a good showing of what basic php can do, look at this forum for advanced php examples).

    I personaly setup my own apache2/php4/linux server for learning, i then published my website.

    PHP scripting is server side, without setting up your own server, there is really no way to "test" it localy, however some code assist programs supposedly let your test it localy. Testing those myself i have discovered that you still need to have a local webserver for them to work.

    My advice, get apache, php, mysql and....

    a GOOD book on php and start learning. If you know programing languages already, php is not that hard, it will help if you truly understand how html/php intermix on a page so you get the final results (took me a while to get that connection)
    <Ferrit> Take 1 live chicken, cut the head off, dance around doing the hokey pokey and chanting: GO AWAY BAD VIRUS, GO AWAY BAD VIRUS
    -----------------------
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Asus P5QL Deluxe
    Intel Q6600
    nVidia 8800 GTS 320
    6 gigs of Ram
    2x60 gig OCZ Vertex SSD (raid 0)
    WD Black 750 gig
    Antec Tri power 750 Watt PSU
    Lots of fans

  5. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    46
    Go to sourceforge.net and search for Wamp. Download one of the many different Wamp distributions and install. It will basically let your computer run (Windows, Apache, mySql, PHP). That way you can test your php on your computer before you upload to your site.

    Or, as someone else mentioned, your provider probably already offers it. Create your website under a test directory and test there.

  6. #21
    Registered User 10of40's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Unimatrix W-2
    Posts
    78
    Mat's got a point there, inferno.
    "I aspire sir, to be better than I am." -- Data, Star Trek: Nemesis

  7. #22
    Chat Operator Matridom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,778
    this thread is 3 months old.....
    <Ferrit> Take 1 live chicken, cut the head off, dance around doing the hokey pokey and chanting: GO AWAY BAD VIRUS, GO AWAY BAD VIRUS
    -----------------------
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Asus P5QL Deluxe
    Intel Q6600
    nVidia 8800 GTS 320
    6 gigs of Ram
    2x60 gig OCZ Vertex SSD (raid 0)
    WD Black 750 gig
    Antec Tri power 750 Watt PSU
    Lots of fans

  8. #23
    Geezer confus-ed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    In front of my PC....
    Posts
    13,087
    Quote Originally Posted by Matridom
    this thread is 3 months old.....
    He obviously took a while to catch up on his back reading .. you should appreciate by now that some folks will do anything to get another pad !

  9. #24
    Registered User 10of40's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Unimatrix W-2
    Posts
    78
    Rtfm.
    "I aspire sir, to be better than I am." -- Data, Star Trek: Nemesis

  10. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    24
    Since you're quite a PHP newbie I recommend installing "Triad" on to your computer. It installs Apache, MySQL and PHP.

    Apache is to view your PHP files.
    You'd put a file in the */htdocs/ in the Apache folder.
    Then with Apache running you'd open up your browser and type:
    http://localhost/name_of_php_file.php and you can view it.

    This will also include MySQL. The good thing about this software is that it configures it all to work together for you, which can be quite tedious especially if you don't know what you're doing.

    -> Software - http://sourceforge.net/projects/phptriad
    -> PHP Info - http://www.php.net

    Good luck.

Similar Threads

  1. Nick Burns, your company computer guy
    By WebHead in forum Tech Lounge & Tales
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 19th, 2004, 09:48 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 21st, 2002, 05:04 AM
  3. The continually-booting computer
    By Smokey702a in forum BIOS/Motherboard Drivers
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 30th, 2001, 03:14 AM
  4. [RESOLVED] Windows waits for other computer on network
    By sparehead2 in forum Networking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 12th, 2001, 12:43 PM
  5. computer won't boot
    By format c: in forum Windows 95/98/98SE/ME
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: January 31st, 2001, 02:02 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •