[RESOLVED] ReadIRIS OCR software a piece of crap or is it me?

Thread: [RESOLVED] ReadIRIS OCR software a piece of crap or is it me?

Randall

Question ReadIRIS OCR software a piece of crap or is it me?

I understand what OCR software is scanning text to a text file.

I have a HP PSC500 really it is a nice machine. It came with readiris OCR software. No matter what settings I get symbols instead of texts.

I have to sit here on freaking night clicking learn while it looks at every mark on a page and even then it looks like crap. Some words but mostly symbols or junk any ideas?

Is it me or is this OCR software a piece of crap? It came on the install disc along with my HP drivers.

I have never used OCR software before so is this normal?

MacGyver

Are you scanning at a high enough resolution for the OCR software to pick up the text?

I have used OCR software, but the last time was back in '94. I assume that OCR software has progressed quite a bit since then. It worked well at times, others it was faster to retype the whole document over because it would not be able to recognize all the characters

------------------
    Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most.

I have spoken to the dealer of Readiris in my country.
    They said you need to set the resolution to 300 DPI and the image has to be black&white.

The training has to be done, until it recognizes the most common font types. This is a painful procedure, but has to be done.

I thought Readiris is one of the best OCR software..!?!?!!

Good luck!

------------------
    March 25, 1821 - March 25, 2001
    180 years have passed since the Greek Revolution.
    180 years of being free, 180 years of being proud!

"We are enslaved and we suffer, but we will never stop following our forefathers' steps" - Rigas Velestinlis (Dec 12, 1790)

My Hardware Info, Hardware Media and Computer History page
    The wandering Odysseus of the web.