Getting started with overclocking

Thread: Getting started with overclocking

Getting started with overclocking

I finally decided to take that step and overclock my custiom built rig, but I have little experience :[
    Here are my specs:

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ currently running at ~1.9 GHz
    1 x 74 GB Raptor HDD SATA 10,000 RPM
    1 x eVGA Geforce 6800GT 256MB (Want to overclock as well)
    1 GB Corsair ValueSelect
    ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 Motherboard
    500W Power Supply

So far my comp has been locking up whenever I go higher than 1.9 GHz. I have been using the tool "Ai Booster" that came with the Asus board but gives me minimal boost in performance. I'm not looking for a big jump, but enough to keep a steady 125 fps in my games at a resolution of 1024x768 and that includes oc'ing my graphics card if possible. I may have more questions later on, but if someone could guide me through this bit I would be more than happy :]

Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 16 Gigs
    Sapphire R9 280 2gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

Quote Originally Posted by Ferrit
    Well hell, yeah, but they won't tell you the first rule of overclocking as they don't know it, or more correctly they choose to ignore it, & that's don't if you don't know what you are doing completely ! ..'cos they all think they do, of course ..

AI booster by Asus, isn't actually half bad & you should be able to get decent gains with that, up to the order of 15-20%, which is about all you can expect, without extra cooling anyway, & doing what no 3rd party tool should be doing & that's changing voltages, as that can dramatically cut any components life, which isn't really suceedingin o/c terms, more a bit of slow cooking !