help me plx with new pc startup error

Thread: help me plx with new pc startup error

help me plx with new pc startup error

Right, I',m new to this so be gentle please . Basically i wanted a pc for my room, so i got a friend to build me a nice gaming rig, but i have come to install windows xp home edition OEM and i have came across the following error when i try to load up the os disk. . .

!!error awdflash.exe cannot be found with cd!!

Now I'm new to all this, so i have no idea as to what this means or to how i could fix it. The following pc specs are:

Amd athlon 64 3700+ cpu
    1Gb corsair ram matched 512mb pair
    seagate barracuda 7200rpm 80gb
    asus A8N-E mobo
    gainward bliss 6800gs 512mb "glh"
    500watt magna psu

Now looking through the manual for my mobo, it would appear that awdflash is award BIOS flash that comes on the mobo disk. I also have a keyboard error, despite the keyboard lighting up and appearing to be active. I have tried to press delete to get into the BIOS but this doesnt work either. . . .I'm very stuck and I'd love for my pc to work sooon, please help me!!!!

thanks in advance, dave west

Well the first question would be "how far does the computer boot before you get this error?' I would first try

1) check your manual and make sure motherboard settings are right
    2) if right then you might need to flash the bios because it sounds corrupt

good luck

hmm well the pc doesnt boot very far at all, it detects the ide device, trys to boot from cd and thats the error that comes up! I don't have a floppy drive either, and i'm not sure how i would flash the bios as I have never really set up a pc before, as i said, my friend has built it for me and has assumed that there would be no installation problems with the bios or os.

thanks, david west

Was there a CD in the CD drive when you booted up? If so remove and try booting up again.