Ghost 2003 and Vista RC1
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: Ghost 2003 and Vista RC1

  1. #1
    Registered User techs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In one of the really, really Blue states.
    Posts
    5,159

    Ghost 2003 and Vista RC1

    I tried my ghost 2003 to clone a Vista drive.
    It seems to work ok but when booting the new drive it comes up with a missing file. Didn't write it down but something like winload is missing.
    It says boot to Vista cd , select language etc and choose repair.
    Before it even gets to repair it detects the missing file and fixes it.
    Then Vista boots fine.
    So at least there is a way to clone a drive with Vista using currently available tools even if it is messy.
    Just an fyi.
    Still looking for a better working clone utility.
    Anyone have one?
    "We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." -Benjamin Franklin
    "I'm a hard worker." -George W. Bush

  2. #2
    Registered User rgharper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The wilds of Northern Michigan
    Posts
    1,173
    I've been cloning Vista successfully with Ghost 8.0 so I can't imagine it's a problem with Ghost 2003. Keep in mind that Vista may put the boot files on a different drive or partition than the main Windows drive.

  3. #3
    Registered User techs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    In one of the really, really Blue states.
    Posts
    5,159
    Quote Originally Posted by rgharper
    I've been cloning Vista successfully with Ghost 8.0 so I can't imagine it's a problem with Ghost 2003. Keep in mind that Vista may put the boot files on a different drive or partition than the main Windows drive.
    Hmm. I'm not sure what version Ghost 2003 is.
    I will look into getting a Ghost 8.0 and try it.
    Curious as to whether ghost 8.0 has the feature that only works on one computer. Ghost 2003 lets you make copies without marking the drives enabling you to use it on different machines.
    I am assuming you use Ghost from a boot disk and not from the Windows interface?
    "We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." -Benjamin Franklin
    "I'm a hard worker." -George W. Bush

  4. #4
    Registered User Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,952
    Using kinda old versions of ghost here arent we?
    ghost 10.0 is out for quite a while
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 16 Gigs
    Sapphire R9 280 2gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  5. #5
    Registered User rgharper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The wilds of Northern Michigan
    Posts
    1,173
    I use a bootable CDROM (that I created, not something produced by Ghost) with Ghost for DOS on it, and I'm using Ghost 8.0 because "It Just Works".


  6. #6
    Registered User Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,952
    Kewl
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 16 Gigs
    Sapphire R9 280 2gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  7. #7
    Registered User *SlyVenom*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,034
    Not sure if it works with Vista, but I've had great luck with Clone Maxx

    And it's freeware.

    http://www.abit-usa.com/products/mb/...es=1&model=326

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7

    Ghost 2003 & Image a Vista Partition

    I attempted to image a Vista Partition using a bootable Ghost 2003 disk. It initially booted and loaded the GUI however all of the choices/options were gone. Just the main gray screen. Anyone else have this issue? Would really like to be able to create an image of the partition as a system recovery disk.

  9. #9
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824
    Welcome to Windrivers JF Sly

    try it this way
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by NooNoo
    Welcome to Windrivers JF Sly

    try it this way
    Thanks, will give it a try and let you know (May be a bit as the PC is in KS at the moment)

    Also what is the -fdsp switch? I did not see it in the Manual?

  11. #11
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7

    Ghost and Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by NooNoo
    The problem was not restarting after cloning... it was that with the vista machine, I could not even clone the system because when booting with the Ghost boot disk, there would not be any options once ghost was loaded, just the gray screen.

  13. #13
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824
    boot disk.... what sort of boot disk?
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7

    Norton Ghost & Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by NooNoo
    boot disk.... what sort of boot disk?
    It is a boot Disk that I had created using Norton Ghost 2003 (when creating an Image of another machine).

  15. #15
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824
    Is it the boot cd as described in the link?
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

Similar Threads

  1. MS OS NEWS: Windows Vista
    By TechZ in forum Tech News
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: September 19th, 2006, 04:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •