Code 10 - Maxtor HD - I tried all what i know
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Code 10 - Maxtor HD - I tried all what i know

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    10

    Angry Code 10 - Maxtor HD - I tried all what i know

    Hi All
    I have MAXTOR personal storage 3200 500 GB, and it was working great until one day - may be after i changed drive letters for CD rom - it gave the yellow exclamation mark and it is not detected.
    i almost tried every thing i tried on the internet, and every thing was told by Maxtor support, and still no use.

    the sequence when i connect the HD is as following:
    the HD appears in the "device management" only. and no where else in the computer this happened after
    i tried to recycle the power after connecting the PS 3200 the computer
    recognize it in the following sequence:
    1 - First balloon "Maxtor 3200"
    2 - Second balloon "Mass storage device"
    3 - Third balloon "the device is not working correctly"

    when checking computer management, the device is appearing only in the
    device manager under the USB section and it has a yellow exclamation mark
    showing a conflict some where and the error in the properties window under
    "Device status" is (This device cannot start. (Code 10)).

    I tried the following solutions:
    * recycling the power.
    * installing SP2 hot fix from Microsoft.
    * cleaning the USB ports in "safe mode" and reconfiguring them.
    * changing current drive letters for my drives.
    * checking the hard in another computer which lead to the same result.
    * Using the USBDLM tool.
    * Mother board BIOS update.
    * Tried connection in both ports (USB1 & 2)

    i tried almost every thing i know, and i read and still there is no use.

    i would appreciate if you can support me with this issue as soon as possible since it is very critical now, around 300 GB of data will be lost if this problem is not fixed.

    thanks in advanced for your help

    ----------------
    Information and Configuration:
    * Drive Maxtor PS 3200 - less than 2 month old.
    * The drive is using external power supply.
    * Windows XP SP2.
    * Computer is locally assembled (P4 , Intel MB D845PESV)

    P.S the HD was never unplugged since it was first connected to the PC so it is not plugging and unplugging issue.
    Last edited by kraouf; January 3rd, 2007 at 12:32 PM.

  2. #2
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,277
    Welcome to Windrivers Kraouf

    Posting the same message twice only confuses things, I have deleted your duplicate post.

    What was the original drive letter of the usb drive and cdrom?
    What drive letters did you change them too?
    What drive letters does the usbdlm tool say they are?

    If you get it working again, can I suggest you back up your files to DVD or some such? One thing is for sure - hard drives DIE... it may be today of in 5 years, but it will die.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    10
    Dear NooNoo, thanks for your quick reply

    The HD (MAxtor) drive letter was J:
    I have C:, D:
    and E, F,G ---> DVD Writer, DVD, CD Writer
    and H: logical partition
    and the J: was the new HD.

    I changed them to C, D, E System and logical partitions.
    X, Y, Z for DVD Writer, DVD, CD Writer
    the drive got disappeared

    so i changed the CD/DVD drives to F,G,H.

    So my current naming is C,D,E for internal system and logical drives
    and F,G, H for DVD Writer, DVD, CD Writer
    -------------------
    when i run the USBDLM it gives me that there are no drives connected to the USB, so it doesn't see the drive at all.
    -------------------
    I use the hard drive for storage since i have internal hard drive with 80 GB and i already had loads of DVDs and CDs so that was some how live storage and expansion to the system storage.
    --------------------
    Another thing i just noticed when i start the computer after this problem with the HD plugged the computer frees until i unblog the HD - some times it give USB failed to initialize error - and some times not and it continues normally.

  4. #4
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,277
    Sounds like it has gone faulty on you.... can you try it in another machine?
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    10
    i tried it into my laptop and the same thing happened.
    same error message.

  6. #6
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,277
    Then you need to return it under warranty.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    10
    do you think this is the only solution.
    it will be an incredible loss of data, is there is any way that i can reset the device, or do any other possible thing - what ever it takes - so i wouldn't lose the data.

    and how to prevent this in the future.

  8. #8
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,277
    Future prevention is to have the data also copied elsewhere... it is called backing up and is cheap and easy with a dvd burner.

    Talk to Maxtor direct and see if they have any tricks... they might let you take it apart and use the drive as an ide drive to copy the data off...
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    10
    I already have backup of most of my data.
    I mean is there is a possible way to prevent that failure in the future.

    and if you still have any other possible thing to try please till.

    Thanks in advance.

  10. #10
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,277
    Short answer no, there is no way to predict catastrophic failure of any electronic item.

    It could be the power cord and brick that's no longer supplying the power correctly
    Does it show up in drive management?
    Have you considered doing a new install of XP?
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    10
    no it doesn't show in drive management

    and yes i'm considering to re-install XP but as a last option to be done before returning the drive (since it will need allot of work).

    i have a question, when disabling the USB in the BIOS, i disable the "High speed USB" and the "Legacy USB support" is there is any thing else to be disabled.
    the reason i'm asking that is after disabling the windows is still able to detect the USB ports !!

  12. #12
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,277
    Windows is able to control the bios.... so yes it will detect it. You have to turn PNP OS to disable or No and reinstall windows to prevent that happening.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  13. #13
    Registered User Mr_Miyagi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Westbury, Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    1,084
    kraouf did you ever get any "delayed write failure" errors using the drive?

    have you tried a different USB cable???? (hmm!)
    Mr Miyagi, by any other name... (is this sig short enough?)

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    10
    no i never got that message before
    and i didn't try to change the cable to be honest

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    10
    i tried the cable changing , power supply changing i think the only thing missing is HD changing. :-)
    i tried even another a third computer and the same apply.
    i contacted MAXTOR technical support and it seems that also they don't have solution from there side.
    link for details
    https://maxtor.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/...840&p_allorg=1

    it seems that i have no other solution but changing the HD since it is in warranty.

    and a very hard lesson was learned is that i should not trust the HD as the main storage.

Similar Threads

  1. more Code 10..Firewire device
    By ron_of_orange in forum USB/Firewire
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: December 30th, 2006, 07:06 PM
  2. PCI card shows Code 10 after plugging in USB drive
    By anscenic in forum USB/Firewire
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 4th, 2004, 11:48 PM
  3. Asus WL-107g PC Card Code 10
    By Cyberdog in forum Internet and Networking
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: June 12th, 2004, 07:32 AM
  4. Windows 2000 device manager code 10 for CDROM drive that works as a boot device
    By Joe Sufleta in forum CD-ROM/CDR(-W)/DVD Drivers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2004, 05:10 PM
  5. [RESOLVED] Access Violation by Explorer.exe
    By jontyrp in forum Windows NT/2000
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 7th, 2001, 07:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •