Can't view .AVI's in Vista???
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Can't view .AVI's in Vista???

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    38

    Can't view .AVI's in Vista???

    I recently bought a new Gateway laptop with Vista Home Premium, but I can't seem to figure out how to view the .avi files that my new Samsung sc-x210L produces.

    The software that it came with (Ulead 9) does not work with Vista, so I have tried to download codecs from the internet, to no avail. I have downloaded a program called CCCP (combined community codec pack 2007) and another called Vistacodecs v429, neither of which did anything for my original problem of not being able to view the .avi files generated by my camcorder.

    Any guidance would be greatly appreciated, as I am not a computer savvy person.

    tia

    P.S. audio will generate when I play the file through wmp, but no video.

  2. #2
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824
    The avi's are mp4 (mpeg4) codec. You need that codec. I explained that to you in your other thread. you can use gspot to identify the codec that a file has. You also need to install the cd that came with the samsung camera - it has the codec on it.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by NooNoo
    The avi's are mp4 (mpeg4) codec. You need that codec. I explained that to you in your other thread. you can use gspot to identify the codec that a file has. You also need to install the cd that came with the samsung camera - it has the codec on it.
    I'm not sure what you mean by 'install the cd that came with the camera'. I said in the other thread that I had already done that. I will check with gspot and investigate some more, thanks.

  4. #4
    Registered User Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,952
    Codec package for vista is here
    http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=66826
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 16 Gigs
    Sapphire R9 280 2gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by Ferrit
    Hey thanks, but are you sure that will work with my Vista Home premium? My version is 32bit, not 64bit, I was under the impression that 64bit codecs will not work with the 32bit version of Vista.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by Ferrit

    regarding another subject a few days ago... I got my own internet connection now...

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada, Eh!
    Posts
    4,091
    MajorGeeks has a codec pack download that includes Vista 32 bit:

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/Codec_d5118.html

    As always, read the instructions (if any).

    gl

  8. #8
    Registered User Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,952
    It isnt 64bit I have it on my 32 it Buisness version now and I got no 64 bit error
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 16 Gigs
    Sapphire R9 280 2gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by CCT
    MajorGeeks has a codec pack download that includes Vista 32 bit:

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/Codec_d5118.html

    As always, read the instructions (if any).

    gl
    thanks, I tried to download that yesterday but my connection timed out. I can't download from that website very fast, and the estimated time was over 2 hrs. I'm trying it again today, and looks like the same thing, very low transfer rates of 1kbps. -oops, tried another mirror, and that worked. I hope that it will be my 'cure all'.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    38
    Ferrit,

    thanks, I tried the codec link that you posted, it installed fine, but no video still. I tried to install the codec that came on a disk with the camera, and everytime it just says 'installation failed', and now I'm working with this gspot program that is supposed to identify the codec needed?

    Still lost here on this one. Appreciate any help.

    -okay, gspot says I need a SEDG codec, and it isn't currently installed, so now I'm looking for that...

    P.s. thanks for gspot, that is a pretty sweet application...

    -okay, ran gspot on my embarrassingly old xp machine, and it said the sedg codec was installed, so how do I get that codec over to my new machine... and how do I identify the exact file(s) that I need?
    Last edited by anymanusa; February 28th, 2007 at 09:42 PM.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    38
    Or even better yet, how do I get the appropriate codec to my machine? The links suggested earlier in this thread didn't get it for me, unless I don't understand how to use them... ???

    I've been downloading crap and installing who knows what on my computer for almost a week now, and no progress on the video side of it... I curse Samsung.

  12. #12
    Registered User Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,952
    Couple of thoughts
    Did you reboot after the codecs installed?
    What application are you using to open the video files?
    You might try right clicking the setup file on the cd and choose "Run as Administrator"
    For fun you might also try dopwnloading the trial version of Cyberlink Power DVD 7 and see if it will natively play the files
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 16 Gigs
    Sapphire R9 280 2gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  13. #13
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824
    codec by samsung Assuming it installs in vista... this is what you need
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  14. #14
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    38
    thanks NooNoo, I downloaded them both, extracted all files, and ran the installation but got "installation failed" on both, just like when I tried to install the codec provided by Samsung on the CD. What do you suppose the problem could be?

Similar Threads

  1. OS NEWS: Windows Vista Goes Gold
    By TechZ in forum Tech News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 9th, 2006, 07:39 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 31st, 2006, 09:15 AM
  3. MS OS NEWS: Windows Vista
    By TechZ in forum Tech News
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: September 19th, 2006, 03:37 PM
  4. OS NEWS: Windows Vista Official Prices
    By TechZ in forum Tech News
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 7th, 2006, 08:16 AM
  5. Vista available for public download
    By Richard1 in forum Tech News
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: June 9th, 2006, 02:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  






×
We have made updates to our Privacy Policy to reflect the implementation of the General Data Protection Regulation.