Vista denying floppy making software
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Vista denying floppy making software

  1. #1
    Registered User Miq's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Thomasville, GA
    Posts
    100

    Vista denying floppy making software

    I swear I am about ready to format and go back to XP....

    I am trying to make a dban floppy from my vista machine. When it runs, the program formats the floppy then puts its software on it. Vista is giving me access denied errors. UAC is already turned off (it has been since day 2). This is happening with multiple programs, not just dban so it shouldn't be the download. I have also tried many different floppys. Any insight on how to turn this crap off is greatly appreciated.

    The exact error is:
    Windows Error N. 5
    Access is denied.


    Then Disk error no 69 on track 0, head 0
    Access is denied.


    Miq

  2. #2
    Registered User Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,952
    Hmm strange I made several new sets of 98 bootup disks and ghost boot disks from images just yesterday and no issue other then 1 disk was bad.
    I dont think Vista has anything built in to stop making floppy disks.
    Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 16 Gigs
    Sapphire R9 280 2gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  3. #3
    Registered User Drone2903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Quebec, Qc, Canada
    Posts
    548
    I've seen lots of pc with the write access to floppy turn off in the bios.
    If this is a new pc (less than 1 y/o) ...
    C'est la Vie...

    "I invented it, Bill made it famous." ~ David Bradley
    (wrote the code for Ctrl-Alt-Delete on the IBM PC)

    "You know you're a geek when... You try to shoo a fly away from the monitor with your cursor." ~ Juuso Heimonen

  4. #4
    Registered User Miq's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Thomasville, GA
    Posts
    100
    I can write stuff to floppys with copy/paste or save as without an issue, but I'll check bios anyways.

    I have 3 vista machines in my office and all 3 of them are throwing the same errors in the same places. I took the exact same floppy disk and install program to an XP box and it ran beautifully. I am running Vista Enterprise, I wonder if that has anything to do with it.

    Miq

  5. #5
    Registered User Miq's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Thomasville, GA
    Posts
    100
    I think I just found it in local security policy. There is a device setting: Allow users to format ejectable/removable media. It used to be set to Administrators in XP and is left blank in Vista.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1
    hello Miq

    can you tell me where to find this setting ?

    tia

  7. #7
    Registered User Miq's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Thomasville, GA
    Posts
    100
    That didn't do it.

    That setting is found at:
    control panel
    administrative tools
    local policies
    security options
    about the 12th option down.

  8. #8
    Registered User slgrieb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,103
    Finding software that craps out trying to make diskettes under newer version of Windows isn't very unusual. I still see lots of programs running under 2000 and XP that are supposed to make bootable diagnostic diskettes and the like which just don't function correctly. So, I doubt that Vista is the real cause. You might find that making a CD or DVD works better. What about the bootalbe pen drive option?
    Yes, Mr. Death... I'll play you a game! But not CHESS !!! BAH... FOOEY! My game is...
    WIFFLEBALL!

  9. #9
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824
    So what floppy making software are you trying to use Miq? (long time no see btw!!)
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  10. #10
    Registered User Miq's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Thomasville, GA
    Posts
    100
    I can create cds with DBan no problem, just that it is a bit easier to use a floppy with this rather than a cd. (I also have about 200 old floppy disks that I can use and only a few blank cds). I have yet to have a thumb drive create bootable and actually work.

    Hey NooNoo, it has been a while. I am using DBan (http://dban.sourceforge.net)

    I wouldn't doubt it being incompatable with Vista, but an access denied error makes me lean towards something in vista blocking access.

  11. #11
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,824
    Need to get someone with a floppy drive and vista to try this and see if they have the same problem.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  12. #12
    Registered User rgharper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The wilds of Northern Michigan
    Posts
    1,173
    It doesn't work here, same problem. Error N.5, Access is denied. Same with several other "self-extracting floppy" programs that work fine in Windows XP. I'm guessing that whatever program was used to compile the floppy image isn't Vista compatible.

  13. #13
    Registered User slgrieb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,103
    Who would have ever thought that we'd see a day where software that was supposed to create a boot diskette couldn't do it? Personally, I don't think floppies can die too soon. Anymore, I just make it normal practice to create CDs for any diagnostic software or utility programs, If you have a customer that has trouble booting from one of these CDs, you are way past due to discuss new equipment with them.
    Yes, Mr. Death... I'll play you a game! But not CHESS !!! BAH... FOOEY! My game is...
    WIFFLEBALL!

  14. #14
    Registered User rgharper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The wilds of Northern Michigan
    Posts
    1,173
    Quote Originally Posted by rgharper
    It doesn't work here, same problem. Error N.5, Access is denied.
    Someone slap me. Right-click the bugger and select "Run as Administrator" and it works fine, as do all the other diskette-creation programs.

  15. #15
    Registered User slgrieb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,103
    Good advice, RG, but I have had trouble with some recent software including Drive Fitness Test that wouldn't make a disk correctly under XP Pro running as an administrator. I haven't tried any of this under Vista yet. I still think some of these programs are just plain flawed.
    Yes, Mr. Death... I'll play you a game! But not CHESS !!! BAH... FOOEY! My game is...
    WIFFLEBALL!

Similar Threads

  1. [RESOLVED] Stupid software vendors.
    By CobraTekMax in forum Tech Lounge & Tales
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: September 9th, 2005, 04:40 AM
  2. win2000 floppy drivers not loading
    By wvengineer in forum Removable/Backup Device Drivers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 20th, 2004, 01:57 PM
  3. How to make an exe floppy image?
    By gazzak in forum Tech-To-Tech
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 14th, 2003, 07:27 AM
  4. Data recovery software
    By Quiet Thunder in forum Tech-To-Tech
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: September 4th, 2002, 03:11 PM
  5. [RESOLVED] Epox 7kxa mobo wont use my floppy!?
    By Lucky in forum Tech-To-Tech
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 13th, 2000, 05:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •