Old Aopen Desktop
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Old Aopen Desktop

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    North MS
    Posts
    3

    Old Aopen Desktop

    I have an Aopen desktop with a AX6BC motherboard with R2.30 bios. It has a Pll 350 processor.
    I have flashed the bios to R2.59 which is the latest. Bios R2.41 states support for a Plll 600 processor.
    I installed a Plll 450 and it would not work. When I flashed the bios , I went to R2.53 then on to R2.59.
    Any ideas why the Plll 450 won't work? Does the latest bios (R2.59) not cover the previous bios versions? I thought Plll 600 support would cover a Plll 450.
    Also the Plll 450 has a larger heatsink than the Pll 350, but no fan. Would that pose a problem, if I get the Plll 450 to work?

    Thanks

    Herman

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,895
    Must be some jumpers on the board or settings in the bios you are not getting is all I can think
    Gigabyte 990XA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 32 Gigs
    Sapphire 7770 1gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  3. #3
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,843
    hmmm according to this it's jumperless... so yes it should work - have you tested the PIII 450?
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    North MS
    Posts
    3
    How would I test the PIII 450? What kind of equipment would I Need?

  5. #5
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,843
    Another known good motherboard is the easiest way.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    North MS
    Posts
    3
    Well I found the problem. The first PIII 450 I tried was dead. I tried another one and everything worked fine.
    Now I have to find a way to connect a fan to it.
    Thanks for all your help.

  7. #7
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,843
    pIII 450 with a large heatsink doesn't need a fan - as long as the air flow through the case is good. I have a couple here...


    I even have a couple of hsf for a slot 1 processors in my bottomless box of bits...
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

Similar Threads

  1. Desktop Hijack
    By Fatboym in forum Spyware & Antivirus - Security
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: September 1st, 2006, 10:08 PM
  2. CPU NEWS: Core Duo on the Desktop
    By TechZ in forum Tech News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 18th, 2006, 07:55 AM
  3. GP Locks out Adding Desktop Icons
    By Snuggleywuggle in forum Windows Server 2003 & Windows Home Server
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 6th, 2005, 05:59 AM
  4. CD's causing reboot
    By Taz Devil in forum CD-ROM/CDR(-W)/DVD Drivers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 23rd, 2004, 01:23 PM
  5. [RESOLVED] a DIFFERENT vrtual desktop
    By mrstickerman in forum Video Adapter/Monitor Drivers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 26th, 2000, 10:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •