Sound Troubleshooting in XP - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 45

Thread: Sound Troubleshooting in XP

  1. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by NooNoo View Post
    Welcome to Windrivers Berbs. The file belongs in system32. Click start, run, type in
    msconfig
    click ok
    Make sure the XP cd is in the drive and click on Expand file and fill in the details
    What do I exactly need to fill in? This methoddoesn't work (at this time).

  2. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NEW MEXICO
    Posts
    2

    Avatar

    Who do i contact to change my avatar settings? I would like to change my avatar to one I have?

  3. #18
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,826
    Sarge1 you have to be a regular contributor to be able to have a custom avatar.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  4. #19
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,826
    Quote Originally Posted by Berbs View Post
    What do I exactly need to fill in? This methoddoesn't work (at this time).
    What do you mean "the method doesn't work"? You fill in the name of the file STREAMCI.DLL in the File to restore box. In the next box you type in where the file is - if your CD drive is E: you would type in E:\i386
    And then you want it to go in C:\windows\system32
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  5. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    8
    I also did a system restore on my compuet and since i have had no sound. (no mixer devices available etc). I am using a packard beel model with windows XP. Not sure what other info a need to give. I would be grateful for any help. Thanks. Vikki M

  6. #21
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,826
    Welcome to Windrivers vikkim

    The packard bell model number or serial number please.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  7. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    8
    I checked on the back. It says
    TYPE -- UTOW-QUA
    MODEL-- IMEDIA-1303


    HOPE THS HELPS?

  8. #23
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,826
    here is the support page for your Imedia 1303 and here is the sound driver Download it to a folder you can find easily. When it has downloaded, double click the file and it should install automatically with you clicking next a couple of times
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  9. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    8

    Smile

    Thanks for the information given last time.
    I have downloaded the drivers and i have now installed these on my computer.
    There is no longer the 'no active mixer devices' error messge. I now have the sound bar.
    The computer is still not making any sound, any ideas what i have to do next?
    The sound bar is not muted.
    I think im almost there??

  10. #25
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,826
    Are the speakers plugged into the green jack and powered on?
    Have you checked that the speakers work? Plug them into another device that uses powered speakers like an mp3 player
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  11. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    8
    Thanks for your help, I now have sound on my computer. I can finally listen to my i tunes.
    ...But when I go on any programme on the internet it will not let me listen to music from there? any ideas?

  12. #27
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,826
    What browser are you using?
    Which sites are you trying?
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  13. #28
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    8
    i've tried bbc and channel 4 website anything over the net seems not to work?

  14. #29
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,826
    And which browser are you using?
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  15. #30
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    8
    i am using AOL 9.0 to access the net

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 8th, 2010, 06:20 AM
  2. Creative AudioPCI (ES1371,ES1373) (WDM) no sound on XP after PC upgrade
    By Gandalf the White in forum Sound Card Drivers
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: January 29th, 2008, 04:58 AM
  3. Sound Card Drivers for Windows XP Home edition
    By charmedfantasy in forum Sound Card Drivers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2006, 01:25 PM
  4. No sound in xp home
    By Garfield99 in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 14th, 2004, 05:22 AM
  5. no sound on xp sp1 install
    By rob in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 4th, 2003, 07:42 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •