XP Pro : frequent registry corruption
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: XP Pro : frequent registry corruption

XP Pro : frequent registry corruption

Hi everyone, I really need help on this one guys:

I have an ASUS CUBX-E mainboard in my PC. I have been using this setup for the past 6+ yrs with no issues ever. Earlier had Win Me and currently using XP Pro.
    But for the past three weeks I am facing a strange problem : The registry of windows xp is getting corrupted quite frequently. I have re-formatted and re-installed windows xp pro several times but its registry is getting corrupted frequently, sometimes immediately after XP installation is finished and I reboot and I get the following error :

1. "Windows could not start because the file c:\windows\system32\config\system is corrupt or missing."
    2. "Error : \system root\system32\hal.dll missing"

I have tried repairing the windows installation and the registry using recovery console from the windows xp cd but the errors reappears. Sometimes I get the error within few minutes after windows installation completes. However, I would like to emphasize here that windows xp installs everytime without error. Also Windows XP Pro with SP2 has all the drivers for my PC, so I never have to install any other drivers. So that rules out a driver clash or mismatch.

1. The problem begins after the installation.
    2. Error 1 is much more common and as per microsoft is related to corrupt registry.
    3. I have also tried using different xp cd but it does not help.
    4. I have low-level formatted the hdd but it did not help.
    5. I have changed the IDE cables but that also did not help.
    6. the hdd has no bad sectors and I have tried using both NTFS and FAT32 install. No help.
    7. The error/errors may appear after the first restart or after a few days. But they DO return.
    8. I have RUN memory diagnostics by microsoft (Memdiag) ; DocMemory and Memtest86+ 1.7 BUT NO ERRORS --- EVER !!!!