Server 2003 GPO batch
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Server 2003 GPO batch

Server 2003 GPO batch

Hello all,

I am very new to GPO's but I have been doing a lot of reading today and yesterday. It has all gotten me this far, but I am now really stuck. No one else around here really has a lot of experience with GPO's except for one guy, and he can't tell me why this isn't working either.

I was tasked with changing all local admin passwords for all domain computers (some 150+ workstations). I was told to do it with GPO, so I assumed it was one of the editable settings, thought it would take 5 min. Come to find out this feature is not built into GPO, ok no problem, I start reading into scripts.

After seeing many examples in .vbs format, I find an awesome simple command that can be easily made into a batch file.

Code:
    net user administrator password
    This command needs admin rights to run; I read that if I set this script as a startup in computer settings, it will run under the "Local System Account" which has admin rights to run it properly. (ref:http://www.petri.co.il/forums/archiv...hp/t-1827.html user: azmantek)

Here is where I stand now.

I know the batch works because I can run it locally and it will do the job. I assume the GPO is being pushed because when I lookup 'Group Policy Results' on a specific system, the GPO shows under 'Applied GPOs', but still no password change.

As a further test I added a
    Code:
     > \\192.168.1.1\share\%computername%.txt
    to verify if it was attempting and just didn't have the rights. When it worked (locally) I got a txt file with the system name and "The command was successful.. whatever", and when I ran it without admin rights I got a blank file. So I first do a gpupdate /force, then a reboot, then I check the shared folder for an output file and nothing. This makes me assume it isn't even running the batch file.

I am I going about this all the wrong way? Thank you in advance.