"Found New Hardware, Ethernet Controller"
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 43

Thread: "Found New Hardware, Ethernet Controller"

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    16

    "Found New Hardware, Ethernet Controller"

    All of a sudden I get this error message on computer startupon my desktop. I cannot access the Internet, no driver is installed for the Ethernet Controller. I have not installed any new hardware.

    In device manager there is a yellow question mark at Other devices and under that another yellow question mark with yellow exclamation point at Ethernet Controller

    Everest - under Devices, PCI Devices has Ethernet Controller [NoDB]

    I gather I need to find the correct driver but could use any help getting there, and on proper procedure for install (e.g. do I need to uninistall something first, etc.)

    TIA
    Last edited by bruce007; January 13th, 2009 at 02:09 AM.

  2. #2
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,843
    Welcome to Windrivers Bruce007

    Yep, you are right, you need a driver... what make and model is your computer and what windows are you running please?
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    16
    It's a homebrew computer (friend's) running XP Home SP 3, an AMD Athlon 800 MHz, motherboard is an Abit KT7(A)/KT7(A)-RAID/KT7E.

    Please tell me what info you need and I can get from Everest.

    I see under PCI Devices:

    Ethernet Controller [NoDB]
    HighPoint HPT370A Ultra-ATA/100 RAID Controller

    Thanks, NooNoo
    Last edited by bruce007; January 13th, 2009 at 05:20 AM.

  4. #4
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,843
    Here are the drivers for that motherboard

    There are two boards of this type, one is revision 1.13 which is this one

    As you can see the ethernet controller is not part of the motherboard... so it is in a separate slot. If you uninstall/remove the ethernet controller from the device manager and restart the machine, the hardware wizard will run and either on the first page of the wizard or the second it will identify exactly what chip is on the ethernet card that it needs drivers for. Post that and I will find you the driver.

    The make/model might also be printed on the ethernet card.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    16
    Here's where my lack of knowledge comes in: I uninstalled the ethernet controller from the device manager and restarted the computer, the Found New Hardware Wizard opens but first page only asks what I want the wizard to do: "Install hardware automatically (Recommended)
    Install from a list or specific location (Advanced)"

    When I run Install automatically, I get "not installed because wizard cannot find the necessary software" and if I try install from a list or specific location, I do not know where to tell it to look.

    Is there any other means of finding that chipset info?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,843
    OK, when you see the install hardware automatically... in the blurb should be what it is looking for... here is an example This is looking for an Asustek/Broadcomm 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller

    Please post exactly what it says above the CDrom icon as shown in the example.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    16
    Ethernet Controller

    That's it, no details like brand/mfg/model no.

  8. #8
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,843
    ooooh goody... fire up everest and get a report on the pci cards that are plugged in and paste it... looks like we are going to have to do this the hard way. Everest at the very least should provide the MAC or physical address of the card, from that I can find out the make and just occasionally the model.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    16
    Field Value
    Device Properties
    Device Description Ethernet Controller [NoDB]
    Bus Type PCI
    Bus / Device / Function 0 / 15 / 0
    Device ID 3003-3003
    Subsystem ID 3003-3003
    Device Class 0200 (Ethernet Controller)
    Revision 11
    Fast Back-to-Back Transactions Supported, Disabled

    Device Features
    66 MHz Operation Not Supported
    Bus Mastering Enabled

  10. #10
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,843
    No helpful info there... I need the MAC address.... or you have to look at the card.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    16
    can you tell me how to find the mac addy or where to look to find the card?

  12. #12
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,843
    OK, you haven't yet said what Windows you are running - these instructions are for XP

    Click Start,
    Click Run,
    Type in the runbox
    CMD
    Click OK

    On the black box that opens, type in

    GETMAC

    And press enter.

    To copy the info, rightclick on the black box, select mark, highlight the box in white and then press enter. You can then right click paste into a post here.
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    16
    When I type in GETMAC and enter, I get the following:

    'GETMAC' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
    Last edited by bruce007; January 13th, 2009 at 07:16 AM.

  14. #14
    Driver Terrier NooNoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    31,843
    What windows do you have?
    Never, ever approach a computer saying or even thinking "I will just do this quickly."

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    16
    XP Home SP 3

Similar Threads

  1. Ethernet via USB Netgear problem!
    By berone7 in forum Internet and Networking
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: February 29th, 2008, 07:42 PM
  2. USB Mass Storage Device Not Recognized (XP)
    By SpazTAstic in forum USB/Firewire
    Replies: 93
    Last Post: October 12th, 2007, 11:01 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 25th, 2007, 07:15 AM
  4. Replies: 28
    Last Post: October 27th, 2005, 03:54 AM
  5. Did You See This Ace Hardware Commercial?
    By Pinnacle in forum Tech Lounge & Tales
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: March 14th, 2003, 11:15 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •