Realtek HD Audio Manager isn't in startup but starts when PC does
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Realtek HD Audio Manager isn't in startup but starts when PC does

  1. #1
    Registered User Niclo Iste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pgh, PA
    Posts
    2,051

    Realtek HD Audio Manager isn't in startup but starts when PC does

    I use a Soundblaster Live card. The onboard realtek was installed before I found my live card. The thing is I have no options on how to turn off or remove the Realtek HD Audio Manager in the msconfig, or services directory. I do know it's named RAVCpl64.exe just I don't want to delete it I only want to turn off the dumb thing until further notice.

    ****Nevermind****
    Realtek is junk anyway so I just killed the thing in regedit.
    Last edited by Niclo Iste; October 25th, 2009 at 10:53 PM. Reason: Found a viable solution
    One Script to rule them all.
    One Script to find them.
    One Script to bring them all,
    and clean up after itself.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,915
    Is the Realtek turned off in bios?
    Should be able to go to Add Remove and remove alll realtek software
    Gigabyte 990XA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 32 Gigs
    Sapphire 7770 1gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  3. #3
    Registered User Niclo Iste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pgh, PA
    Posts
    2,051
    The Realtek is off in the bios, there is no software option to uninstall and there isn't even a realtek folder. Looks like they changed things up so people have a harder time turning off their junk.
    One Script to rule them all.
    One Script to find them.
    One Script to bring them all,
    and clean up after itself.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA, United States of America
    Posts
    141
    but you nuked it within the registry. Did it die yet?

  5. #5
    Registered User Niclo Iste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pgh, PA
    Posts
    2,051
    Yeah, just I'd have rathered a msconfig, or uninstall function rather than a registry key search. That implies to me that the company is up to something when they hide programs.
    One Script to rule them all.
    One Script to find them.
    One Script to bring them all,
    and clean up after itself.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA, United States of America
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by Niclo Iste View Post
    That implies to me that the company is up to something when they hide programs.
    I agree with you there, Niclo.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,915
    To me it sounds like a borked or improperly preformed uninstall.
    I have used realtek for a long time. Without issue.
    Software that borks stuff up is creative's specialty.
    Assuming a sound company might be "up to something"
    because your uninstall didnt work perfectly for whatever reason
    is a little far fetched.
    Gigabyte 990XA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 32 Gigs
    Sapphire 7770 1gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  8. #8
    Registered User Niclo Iste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pgh, PA
    Posts
    2,051
    Ferrit there was no uninstall to be had in the first place. Generally you'd be right about Creative too however I don't use their installers. I decompile their installers and install the drivers manually.
    One Script to rule them all.
    One Script to find them.
    One Script to bring them all,
    and clean up after itself.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada, Eh!
    Posts
    4,025
    I wonder if disabling Realtek HD audio in CP, Sounds/Audio, hardware would have turned it off?

  10. #10
    Registered User slgrieb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,104
    Interesting thread. Normally, none of the Realtek software should load if the onboard sound isn't active, and there certainly should be an entry for Realtek High Definition Audio Driver in Add & Remove Programs or Programs and Features. Sounds to me like one of those annoying Windows glitches you usually can only fix with a repair installation (maybe a clean installation), or Niclo's Registry edit.
    Yes, Mr. Death... I'll play you a game! But not CHESS !!! BAH... FOOEY! My game is...
    WIFFLEBALL!

  11. #11
    Super Moderator Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,915
    I agree with slgrieb. There shouldn't be any realtek software if the on board sound was "always" shut off.
    Gigabyte 990XA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 32 Gigs
    Sapphire 7770 1gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 15th, 2007, 04:38 AM
  2. help me plx with new pc startup error
    By west in forum BIOS/Motherboard Drivers
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: May 11th, 2006, 02:07 PM
  3. Which 3d audio formats does the Realtek AC97 supports?
    By meast in forum Sound Card Drivers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 8th, 2004, 07:10 AM
  4. Help!..morze5.exe
    By fastwaves in forum Spyware & Antivirus - Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 12th, 2004, 01:21 AM
  5. CD's causing reboot
    By Taz Devil in forum CD-ROM/CDR(-W)/DVD Drivers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 23rd, 2004, 01:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •