Acer Aspire 3000 WLAN problem
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

Thread: Acer Aspire 3000 WLAN problem

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Please wait! Searching......
    Posts
    189

    Acer Aspire 3000 WLAN problem

    Hi guys,

    Acer Aspire 3000 running W2K. Everything is installed and working fine except the wireless network card. In device manager there is a yellow ! PCI device.
    I have checked the Acer site and got all downloads from there, but nothing is working for the wireless card.
    Any ideas guys?

    K.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,893
    likely first it needs the chipset drivers,then the wireless lan drivers.
    Is it actually a 3000 or is there a closer model number?
    Gigabyte 990XA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 256 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 32 Gigs
    Sapphire 7770 1gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Please wait! Searching......
    Posts
    189
    The label says it's a Aspire 3000 series. Model No: ZL5

    On the web site it just lists drivers for Aspire 3000. No chipset drivers there either, which I tried to find as I thought the same thing.

    Aspire drivers

    All XP as well, but are working fine with W2K. I suppose because XP was based on W2K anyway if I remember correctly.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada, Eh!
    Posts
    4,016
    So, they have an Atheros driver and a Broadcom driver.

    You got the right one?

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Please wait! Searching......
    Posts
    189
    Have tried them both. The Athroas version installs fine, but when I check the setup page etc there are no options. The Broadcom version also seemed to install and latched on to the Linksys WPC54G Wireless-G Notebook Adapter that I'm using in it until I get the onboard wireless working.

    I think if I can get the PCI Device error (28) sorted, progress would be made, but I can't seem to find drivers for PCI devices for this laptop.
    Last edited by kleefarr; August 1st, 2010 at 02:38 AM.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada, Eh!
    Posts
    4,016
    Download Everest Home (it is free) and copy it to that laptop:

    http://www.filehippo.com/download_everest_home/

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4181.html

    http://www.softpedia.com/progDownloa...oad-16369.html

    Once you copy it over, click on it and let it install and then run it from the icon on your desktop. Click on file, preferences, report and uncheck the 'include debug information in the report' box. People rarely want to see that stuff.

    Click on the + sign beside 'Computer', then on 'Summary', then go to the VERY Top of the screen and click on 'report'.

    Note: the 'Very Top' isn't one line down, it means what it says.

    Cursor over 'quick report-summary' and then click on 'plain text' and then click on 'save to file' and change the 'save in' folder to 'Desktop' and then click 'Save'.

    Clear all your open windows and on the Desktop click on that 'report.txt' icon - this will open it in a text editor (probably Notepad) and then copy and paste it to here.

    NOTE: DO NOT POST ALL THE DEBUG stuff - please read and follow the directions given.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Please wait! Searching......
    Posts
    189
    --------[ EVEREST Home Edition (c) 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

    Version EVEREST v2.20.405
    Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
    Report Type Quick Report
    Computer HAL
    Generator kleefarr
    Operating System Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional 5.0.2195 (Win2000 Retail)
    Date 2010-08-01
    Time 12:16


    --------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Computer:
    Operating System Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional
    OS Service Pack Service Pack 4
    DirectX 4.07.00.0700 (DirectX 7.0)
    Computer Name HAL
    User Name kleefarr

    Motherboard:
    CPU Type Mobile AMD Sempron LV, 1800 MHz (9 x 200) 3100+
    Motherboard Name Acer Aspire 3000
    Motherboard Chipset SiS M760GX, AMD Hammer
    System Memory 448 MB (PC2700 DDR SDRAM)
    BIOS Type Phoenix (02/20/06)

    Display:
    Video Adapter SiS M760GX (64 MB)
    3D Accelerator SiS 330 Mirage Integrated

    Multimedia:
    Audio Adapter SiS 7012 Audio Device

    Storage:
    IDE Controller SiS PCI IDE Controller
    Disk Drive ST980815A (74 GB, IDE)
    Optical Drive PHILIPS CDRW/DVD SCB5265
    SMART Hard Disks Status OK

    Partitions:
    C: (NTFS) 76308 MB (69134 MB free)

    Input:
    Keyboard PC/AT PS/2 Keyboard (84-Key)
    Mouse Synaptics PS/2 Port Pointing Device

    Network:
    Network Adapter Wireless-G Notebook Adapter (192.168.1.101)

    Peripherals:
    USB1 Controller SiS 7001 PCI-USB Open Host Controller
    USB1 Controller SiS 7001 PCI-USB Open Host Controller
    USB2 Controller SiS 7002 USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    The names of actual companies and products mentioned herein may be the trademarks of their respective owners.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada, Eh!
    Posts
    4,016
    The report shows you have a wireless adapter but no brand.

    Other research shows your model has a built-in Bluetooth Acer InviLink 802.11b/g wireless NIC.

    The drivers for that are at the Acer site separate from the LAN drivers. I can only guess that you'd also need the SiS LAN driver to work with that.

    Can you confirm you have one or the other (or both).

    This isn't something I am all that hot with - just trying to get the data.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Please wait! Searching......
    Posts
    189
    The listed wireless adapter is the Linksys WPC54G which is plugged into the PC slot on the laptop.

    I saw the driver for the Bluetooth and installed it, but when I plugged in my Bluetooth dongle it said I didn't have the correct licence, so uninstalled it. I use a purchased BlueSoleil Bluetooth program for that usually.

    I'll try reinstalling the Bluetooth driver and then try the WLAN driver again.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Please wait! Searching......
    Posts
    189
    Nope. That didn't work.
    Problem still seems to be that PCI error in device manager.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada, Eh!
    Posts
    4,016
    I may be wrong, but the driver I think you need is from Linksys for that operating system - uninstall all those others and go here and identify your specific model adapter and then get the download;


    http://homesupport.cisco.com/en-us/wireless/lbc/WPC54G

    Click 'downloads' then 'Where's my model number?' and go from there.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Please wait! Searching......
    Posts
    189
    No CCT, the Linksys WPC54G is working fine, but it is a plug in card.
    I am using it on the laptop as I can't get the onboard wireless going.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada, Eh!
    Posts
    4,016
    OH - Linksys show it as wireless G. http://homesupport.cisco.com/en-us/wireless/lbc/WPC54G

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Please wait! Searching......
    Posts
    189
    Linksys WPC54G Wireless networkcard.
    That's the plug in one.

    Here's a screen grab of the Device manager...

    Last edited by kleefarr; August 1st, 2010 at 10:40 AM.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada, Eh!
    Posts
    4,016
    See if the SiS chipset identifier will work -> http://www.sis.com/support/support_prodid.htm

Similar Threads

  1. Video/card monitor problem
    By ph1sh in forum Video Adapter/Monitor Drivers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 14th, 2001, 10:10 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 1st, 2001, 05:11 AM
  3. [RESOLVED] Anyone can help me with this problem?
    By WestleyL in forum Windows 95/98/98SE/ME
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 13th, 2000, 01:54 AM
  4. [RESOLVED] Acer & Windows NT 4.0 (NOT!)
    By buckeye_man in forum Windows NT/2000
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 27th, 1999, 10:56 PM
  5. [RESOLVED] Acer and Windows NT 4.0 (NOT!)
    By buckeye_man in forum BIOS/Motherboard Drivers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 25th, 1999, 09:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •