The Internet through a Router
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: The Internet through a Router

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7

    The Internet through a Router

    The Ubuntu system I just installed does not automatically connect to the Internet.

    This, I think is because I go through a router. Do I have to set up the network proxy preferences by hand? Is the HTTP proxy the same thing as the http address of the router?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Ferrit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Island The Real Canada
    Posts
    4,860
    I dont know a lot about Ubuntu.
    But i do know you need nothing like a proxy at all.
    The router is not stopping it either.
    Your problem is it did not install the network card correctly or at all.
    Gigabyte 990XA-UD3
    AMD FX 8350 4ghz OCTO-Core
    Windows 8.1 PRO 64
    Adata 120 gig SSD
    Kingston HyperX 1600 32 Gigs
    Sapphire 7770 1gig
    Enermax Liberty Modular 620
    www.northernaurora.net
    http://www.northernaurora.net/page/chat.html

  3. #3
    Registered User Niclo Iste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pgh, PA
    Posts
    2,050
    Ubuntu is set as a plug and play system as far as networking goes. Unless you're using wireless. There have been some issues with the drivers for broadcom devices and it takes a bit of tweaking to get them to work. Broadcom devices in my experience with ubuntu have been random from it worked for a while but needs drivers reinstalled to it just won't work at all until you install the OS several times. The more information we have the more answers we may be able to offer.
    One Script to rule them all.
    One Script to find them.
    One Script to bring them all,
    and clean up after itself.


    To check your posts Rage-O-Meter rating click here.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7
    It was a bad internet cable.
    When I replaced it, everything worked.

Similar Threads

  1. Switch to Router issue
    By Niclo Iste in forum Networking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: April 27th, 2008, 05:33 PM
  2. how do i access my network behind a router
    By charlescpc in forum Networking
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 9th, 2005, 02:54 PM
  3. Help! How can a router be detected by ISP?
    By geejay79 in forum Networking
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 1st, 2005, 08:46 PM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: February 2nd, 2005, 04:45 AM
  5. [RESOLVED] 3Com firewall does not detect router
    By La Soleil in forum Networking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: October 10th, 2001, 02:32 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •