Stubborn Virus

Thread: Stubborn Virus

Stubborn Virus

I have been removing viruses for several years and have only had 2 occurrences where I had to format the drive to solve the problem. A coworker of mine who has similar skills says that he has:
    • Ran System Restore
    • Ran s deep scan with Malwarebytes with System Restore turned off
    • Ran AVG, Avast, and SpyBot
    This has not helped. It is NOT Antivirus 2009 but does have similar messages. Any attempts to access antivirus sites are redirected. His last attempt to run System Restore produced a message saying, “That Will Not Help You!” Any attempts to print produce messages stating the printer is missing when it is clearly visible in Printers/Devices and set as the default. Some system tray icons are missing.

I apologize for the lack of detailed info but was curious as to what else could be done to solve the problem. He is running XP Pro with SP3 and IE 8.

Thank You!

Jeff
    “If nothing changes, Nothing changes!”

Well the simplest infection I've removed that was missed by tools was an exe file hidden in the startup folder in the start menu, secondly you never mentioned using combofix, smitfraud, or vundofix. All of which you should try. In addition if those fail I could safely say it's a rootkit infector. This I would have to say you may need to research depending on the infector. The tools I use I don't know where to find online anymore and the names of the executables I have are not the actual names for the original programs.
    One Script to rule them all.
    One Script to find them.
    One Script to bring them all,
    and clean up after itself.